Ignition radio noise worse with new cables

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-06-05, 05:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 204
Ignition radio noise worse with new cables

I am having trouble with ignition noise in my radios (both AM-FM and 2 way radio scanner).
I changed the plug wires (that were only 2 years old in the first place) and it mad it the noise WORSE! It is definitely my engine, as I can hear the noise (static) increase with engine RPM. This is 'static' NOT alternator whine!
There is suppose to be a "radio suppression cap" on the alternator that I was going to change out to try, but since it isn't 'whine' is this a waste of time/money?
There is suppose to be a ignition coil cap, but I can't find it. It isn't near the coil and have no idea where it is, if there is one.
I didn't change the rotor, but will. I haven't checked the antenna yet, but will.

This is a 89 Dodge Spirit w/ a 2.5L
Any ideas??
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-06-05, 06:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
You don't say what you replaced the wires with, so I'll assume they are not OEM from the dealer
You may want to replace them with stock replacements, you should not get interference with OEM wires
Or get some Radio Suppresion wires from a reputable manufacturer
I have had good luck with Accel
I wouldn't be suprised if Mopar has some good Radio Supression wires too
 
  #3  
Old 05-06-05, 06:30 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 204
There were replaced with the SAME cables under warrenty.
Borg Warner
 
  #4  
Old 05-06-05, 07:52 AM
Lugnut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas City, Missouri.
Posts: 1,172
Be sure your antenna is well grounded to the car body. I think that can be a big source of static when the grounding is poor.
 
  #5  
Old 05-06-05, 09:48 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 204
I checked both antennas and both had less than 1.5 ohms between the whip and the center pin and the same from base to the shield of the connector.

Still doesn't account to changing the wires making it worse!
 
  #6  
Old 05-06-05, 09:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,538
see if the wires your replaced say supression core on the side of the wire, also make sure the terminals are snapped and locked in the distributer cap.
 
  #7  
Old 05-06-05, 10:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
Originally Posted by bejay
...supression core on the side of the wire...
This is key
 
  #8  
Old 05-06-05, 10:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 204
Yes they are. Again, the SAME cables as before!

Borg-Warner Select
SuperMag
Magnetic Suppression
 
  #9  
Old 05-07-05, 06:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Barre,Vermont
Posts: 472
I do not believe those are Original equipment wires.
You need ones that say MOPAR !
 
  #10  
Old 05-07-05, 06:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 204
They aren't, but since when do you need "orginal" wires? That still doesn't answer why they are noiser than the older ones!
 
  #11  
Old 05-07-05, 07:30 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
Originally Posted by bigguy05641
I do not believe those are Original equipment wires.
You need ones that say MOPAR !
That is correct
Just because they are the same ones that were on there before does not mean they are OEM...or that they are not the problem

videobruce,
I can't tell you why some wires are noisier than others
And why some aftermarket wires work OK with some cars, and not with others
If you are chasing down a problem like yours, thats the thing to do
Go back to the factory wires
 
  #12  
Old 05-07-05, 07:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 204
I also pulled the plugs to check them. Could it be that just by disturbing them it made matters worse and it was just coincidence that I also changed the wires at the same time?
 
  #13  
Old 05-07-05, 02:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
Originally Posted by videobruce
I also pulled the plugs to check them. Could it be that just by disturbing them it made matters worse and it was just coincidence that I also changed the wires at the same time?
It could be you disturbed something and it was just coincidence about the wires
I don't think it could be plugs though

I'm really not familiar with the '80s Dodge stuff
Is this a 2.5L Turbo?
 
  #14  
Old 05-07-05, 03:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: nc
Posts: 616
All other things being the same, it would seem clear that the new wires are the problem, barring any spark plug issues. You changed the wires, then the static immediately got worse, right? Do you still have the older wires to reinstall to see if the radio noise improves to where it was?

Why the new ones are worse, there may be a quality defect, design change, or who knows, maybe they used to be made in America and are now made in China. Whatever the case, they didn't come from the same lot as the older ones.

If the older set of wires was causing the radio noise, they couldn't have been all that great to begin with.
 
  #15  
Old 05-08-05, 05:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 204
maybe they used to be made in America and are now made in China.
Obviously the problem.............
actually they are made in Mexico.
It could be you disturbed something and it was just coincidence about the wires
I thought that also.
You changed the wires, then the static immediately got worse, right? Do you still have the older wires to reinstall to see if the radio noise improves to where it was?
Yes to the first, and no to the 2nd. Took them back.
I will change the rotor next and see, then the plugs.

I never heard of OEM (dealer) parts being BETTER than aftermarket when it comes to run of the mill stuff like this.
 
  #16  
Old 05-08-05, 06:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
Originally Posted by videobruce
I never heard of OEM (dealer) parts being BETTER than aftermarket when it comes to run of the mill stuff like this.
I know, you'd think otherwise
I noticed it hot rodding years ago
I first noticed it on Ford 302s that have the EEC IV computer
You know, you're hot rodding it up, so get the beefy racing wires, hey they must be better right?
Then spend the next few days trying to figure out why it runs like butt
Eventually I figured out that these engines hate aftermarket wires, even expensive ones
Me and many, many others
To be fair, a few people get them to work and don't have a problem
But many, many more have a prob.
It's simply easier to avoid the problem and go with Ford wires
(Though I know several, including me, who were able to run Accels)
I have since heard many theories as to why
In this case (the comp. controlled 302s) the best theory I heard was about EMFs and the EEC IV
But I digress (well, it was to illustrate a point ) and don't really answer your question
Except to say that sometimes, specially on the run-of-the-mill things, plugs, wires, cap, rotor, the factory parts are best
At the very least it eliminates that system from the suspect list when chasing a problem
 
  #17  
Old 05-08-05, 07:04 AM
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,531
I never heard of OEM (dealer) parts being BETTER than aftermarket when it comes to run of the mill stuff like this.
That statement is very untrue. With wires it's very hard to equal OEM with aftermarket. I can guarantee if you replace a set of wires on a Toyota with aftermarket the best wires were just put in the trash. I have had the same experience with Ford products also.
 
  #18  
Old 05-08-05, 07:15 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
Yes I have found that especially true with Toyotas
Don't put anything other than Toyota wires, cap, plugs (NGKs) in a Toyota
 
  #19  
Old 05-09-05, 03:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Barre,Vermont
Posts: 472
Ditto for chevies, ac/delco is the only choice.
99.9 percent of the time, OEM is the only choice.
Aftermarket companies seem to have a effective marketing campaign.
 
  #20  
Old 05-16-05, 08:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 204
I replaced the ignition coil for kicks and giggles, but no difference.
Question; there seems to be a choice of either copper or aluminium cores. I know copper is a better conductor, but is it worth 2x the price?
Where would I see the difference, or is that just for performance vehicles?
 
  #21  
Old 05-16-05, 10:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,538
most older chrysler vehicles with the 2.5 had a noise supressor or capaciter bolted right next to the coil and the lead actually attached to one of the coil terminals if your model does not have this suggest seeing the dealer to see if they show one for your model.
 
  #22  
Old 05-16-05, 12:53 PM
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,531
Just Buy the OEM and end it!
 
  #23  
Old 05-16-05, 01:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Barre,Vermont
Posts: 472
Go to the dealer my friend, there is only one part number.
 
  #24  
Old 05-17-05, 08:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 204
Just tring to cover everything. I will get the OEM wires.
No to that cap or filter across the input of the coil. Never there.
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:31 PM.