Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Ram 1500 HVAC control

VA

05-15-05, 11:42 AM   #1  
Ram 1500 HVAC control

Hello,

I've been fairly active on this site, but this is my first time on the automotive forum. I'm kinda anxious to give it a try.

I have a 94 Dodge full size pickup. For several years, I've had problems with the vacuum control for the HVAC system. Every time I load the engine in the least, the AC disappears from the vent ducts. I have replaced the check valve, although it checked out ok when I removed it. Every time I disturbed anything, it would seem to work for awhile, until recently. I finally broke down and purchased a vacuum tester (pump with gage).

I found out that, if I tried to introduce a small amount of vacuum, it would leak (this is on the control side of the check valve). If I manage to get it passed a certain point, it would seal and hold ok. I feel this may be because the vacuum is pulling two sealing surfaces together. By pinching the hoses in various places, I believe I have narrowed it down to the control itself. If I pinch the vacuum source at the valve...no leak. Pinching any of the other hoses has no effect...it still leaks. By changing the switch selections, the leak rate changes to some degree, but it still leaks.

Bottom line, before I spend $125 for a new control, I wonder if anyone on this forum may have some experience with this system and could make me feel more comfortable spending the money.

Thanks for your help,

Sponsored Links

05-15-05, 12:33 PM   #2  
What size of vacuum check valve did you replace with?, same size(about an inch in diameter and an inch long) or the bigger one which about 3x bigger than the original one?.