90 Chevy Astro Thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-06-05, 04:18 PM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 592
Question 90 Chevy Astro Thermostat

what would it do if i took the Thermostat out of my van?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-06-05, 04:52 PM
Lugnut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas City, Missouri.
Posts: 1,172
It would screw up the computers ability to control the air/fuel ratio. Street cars are engineered for this input to optimize emissions (polution) and fuel economy.

Aside from that, the car would run. Race cars routinely use a brass ring that has no thermostat built in. The size of the opening in the ring depends on what the owner wants based on the types of car races he runs his car in.

I don't suggest ever running a street car without a therm. There is no good reason to do it, and it can create drivability problems.
 
  #3  
Old 06-06-05, 04:58 PM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 592
ok thanks what woudl be the best temp to run my van at, cuz right now its just way to hot for summer
 
  #4  
Old 06-06-05, 05:13 PM
Lugnut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas City, Missouri.
Posts: 1,172
Older cars had the option of running 'winter' stats. But newer cars with computers are designed for only one temp stat. That is the stat that is sold at auto supply stores. You do not have the option to buy hotter or colder stats anymore.
 
  #5  
Old 06-06-05, 05:23 PM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 592
advance auto has a 160, 180, 185, 190, and a 195


Like This One
 
  #6  
Old 06-06-05, 05:37 PM
Lugnut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas City, Missouri.
Posts: 1,172
Auto supply do sell different temp stats, but they are not, by specs, the OEM part. If you order the stat over the counter, there is only one temp listed, dispite the fact that you can go to the stat isle and find other temp options. This is why I said you don't have any options. I was conveying the recommended product according to the catalog. I could have mentioned the other stats, but I feel that they are not to be recommended. After your input about other stat temps, I will agree that they are they for people who want them for whatever reason.

I too, have seen conflict of products. Personally, I would go wherever my efforts led me. But technically, these other temps are for folks that want to thwart off overheating problems. I believe in the long run, they will not solve your problem. But I'm flexible. Give them a try, if they stock your model in other temps (it's a very limited list of models) what the heck. It's a bit of a grey area.
 
  #7  
Old 06-06-05, 07:21 PM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 592
ok right now i have a 195 in it and the output hose feels like it is very very hot, hotter then it should be and i dont think my temp sensor is working because it bearly moves
 
  #8  
Old 06-07-05, 06:20 AM
Lugnut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas City, Missouri.
Posts: 1,172
If you mean that the temp gauge reads cold when the engine is hot, then replace the temp sensor.

You can not determine the temp of the heated water by touch.
 
  #9  
Old 06-07-05, 08:43 PM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 592
where is mine temp sensor located because were auto zone's website says i cant find it
 
  #10  
Old 06-08-05, 06:33 AM
Lugnut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas City, Missouri.
Posts: 1,172
I don't know where it is on your vehicle. Suggest you see the actual part at a parts counter, then go looking for it on your engine after you know what it looks like. There may be slight differences in appearence between original part and replacement part.
 
  #11  
Old 06-08-05, 01:56 PM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 592
i know what it looks like but i dont know where it would be

Thanks For Your Help
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:37 PM.