92 ford aerostar 90k miles

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-13-05, 03:29 PM
bytesnooper
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
92 ford aerostar 3.0L 90k miles

I have a 92 aerostar last week it stalled and started running rich. black smoke
out of the tail pipe. checked and cleaned everything possible. changed
oxygen sensor, fuel pressure reg and tps. thinking about the engine computer.
Question how do you remove it. from under the dash or engine compartment ?
Don't even know if its the computer. when I start the car it runs rough after
a minute and black smoke out of the exhaust. no check engine light.
everything seems normal. can't believe one stupid think somewhere is
screwing everything up... any advice welcome.

ps does anyone how the engine computer is removed. It lookes like from the
engine compartment. unbolting this big cable connecting to it then sliding
it out over the battery. Not sure.
 

Last edited by bytesnooper; 06-14-05 at 03:06 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-14-05, 12:34 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 335
Are you sure that its running rich. With a car that old you might be burning some oil. try checking your oil level and condition.
 
  #3  
Old 06-14-05, 03:03 AM
bytesnooper
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Angry 92 aerostar running rich

thanks for the reply, but I am sure its running rich. Not burning any oil. Van
only has 90k original miles on it.
 
  #4  
Old 06-14-05, 03:27 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
Don't throw any more parts at it w/o checking for codes
The EEC IV can store trouble codes w/o throwing the CEL (Check Engine Light)
Don't remove the computer

Do you know if this is a Speed Density or Mass Air type engine?
 
  #5  
Old 06-14-05, 03:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 242
Yes check the codes, your check engine light bulb may be burnt out or as mentioned may not even be coming on. How does it drive? can you get it up to speed or is it lacking power?
 
  #6  
Old 06-14-05, 04:23 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
I did a quick check and I think you're Mass Air
You'll probably want to pull out that sensor and clean it, or have it checked
But the codes would help tell if that's (part of) the problem
Do that first
 
  #7  
Old 06-14-05, 04:25 AM
bytesnooper
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
92 aerostar running rich

thanks for the replys . Can't drive the van. engine runs,but will stall
at idle or near it. The van spent about two months surging from idle to
running good after I accelerated for 10 seconds. last week this became
a permanent condition. starts fine runs rich misses and statlls at idle.
the computer will cost about 50 bucks out of a junk yard wreck.

Ignition module ? no no advance but should run good at idle

also the van has an airflow sensor by the air filter which I havn't change yet

No computer for codes

appreciate all the advice .
 
  #8  
Old 06-14-05, 06:03 AM
bytesnooper
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
92 aerostar running rich

Originally Posted by slickshift
I did a quick check and I think you're Mass Air
You'll probably want to pull out that sensor and clean it, or have it checked
But the codes would help tell if that's (part of) the problem
Do that first
Thanks. I will change that next. See if it makes any difference. Its one of
sensors that I was going to change before the computer. We have a mechanic that stops around where I work and does repairs to cars. HE looked
at it last week when it started having problems and connected the computer
to it. it didn't tell him what was wrong, so I believe no codes where coming
up. don't understand that. I will ask him when I see him today.
 
  #9  
Old 06-14-05, 06:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
It's possible the computer has stored no codes
But that in it self tells us something
You need to find out for sure before changing any more parts
 
  #10  
Old 06-14-05, 06:39 AM
bytesnooper
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
92 aerostar running rich

Originally Posted by slickshift
I did a quick check and I think you're Mass Air
You'll probably want to pull out that sensor and clean it, or have it checked
But the codes would help tell if that's (part of) the problem
Do that first
It has an airflow sensor in the air filter housing. I'll change it
hope its the problem. Will only have the Ignition module in the dist.
air bypass on the throttle body and the airflow temp change sensor in the
intake manifold and computer. Don't think the air temp change sensor could
be the problem but the air bypass could. think it acts like a choke ?
 
  #11  
Old 06-14-05, 06:49 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
Originally Posted by bytesnooper
think it acts like a choke ?
No
The Air Idle Control lets air into the engine when your foot is off the gas pedal
It's failure could lead to problems like some of the ones you are having
You really want the codes or a confirm there are no codes
 
  #12  
Old 06-14-05, 09:27 AM
bytesnooper
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
92 aerostar running rich

Originally Posted by slickshift
It's possible the computer has stored no codes
But that in it self tells us something
You need to find out for sure before changing any more parts

The mechanic that looked at it last week tried to connect his
computer to the van to read the codes but it was not allowing him
to talk to the vans computer.
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 AM.