Mountaineer won't idle

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-17-05, 04:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 71
Mountaineer won't idle

Have a 2000 Mercury Mountaineer with 73 K miles. For the last 5000 miles it has become more difficult to start and idle although after a few minutes running the idle smooths out. Has had no tune ups and has original plugs, fuel filter, etc. Only oil and lube every 4-5000 miles. Tried additives for fuel injector and carburator cleaning which helped initially, but not doing any good now. Someone suggested a plugged fuel filter, but wanted to see if there is anything else I should be looking at. Check engine light is on now. What do you suggest?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-17-05, 07:05 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
Pull the codes
That's what the check engine light is there for
It's telling you the On Board Diagnostics have detected a problem
It will tell you what it detected, but you need to have the codes read
Many DIY-type auto parts places will do this for free (ie: Autozone)
Some places may do it for a small fee
Take care to copy the #s exactly and post them up here
Someone will help you interpret them
 
  #3  
Old 07-17-05, 10:09 PM
msargent's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 469
I agree with checking for codes, but have seen many a Ford product with a sticking/lazy Idle Air Control Valve/Motor and no codes set.. Once in a while you can remove and clean it, and it'll be ok.. Most times it needs to be replaced..Clean the Throttle body while you're at it....
 
  #4  
Old 07-18-05, 01:45 PM
Big Orn's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northeast Texas
Posts: 37
Originally Posted by msargent
I agree with checking for codes, but have seen many a Ford product with a sticking/lazy Idle Air Control Valve/Motor and no codes set.. Once in a while you can remove and clean it, and it'll be ok.. Most times it needs to be replaced..Clean the Throttle body while you're at it....
It does sound like the IAC valve.
 
  #5  
Old 07-18-05, 01:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
Originally Posted by oiptoner
Check engine light is on now. What do you suggest?
Oh, I'm sure the IAC is funky
But first things first
Why is the CEL on?
Check codes
 
  #6  
Old 07-19-05, 03:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 71
Getting codes

Went to Auto Zone to get codes read, but dashboard plug was dead. Going to dealer tomorrow to complain and get the plug hooked up. Will get back to you.
 
  #7  
Old 07-19-05, 06:27 PM
msargent's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 469
Just to clarify.. I misread the original message as say NO check engine light.. Duh!! Either getting old, or didn't have anough coffee or both.. Sorry!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'