Temp Sensor Not Reading Right

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-01-05, 04:41 PM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 592
Temp Sensor Not Reading Right

i brought a new sensor for my van and im woundering if its reading wrong because 10mins after starting it it says its over heating but i can grab the outlet hose and it warm, but not hot, and advace auto parts wont exchange it because its been used
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-01-05, 04:48 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
You can test them by heating them up
The test procedure varies depending on what type of sensor it is

Are you sure it's not the gauge itself?

Advance should take it back if it's defective
 
  #3  
Old 08-01-05, 05:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
Or hey, I'll test it for you:
Q: does it work?
A: ..................well, to me it looks like you're saying "no", so if you don't mind I'll put down that as your answer
A: No

Hey you just had it tested (by me) and I say "it's out of spec"
Advance should take it back now, you had a guy test it for you, and he said it was out of spec

If you want another one tell them I said it could just be the wrong one so double check the numbers
 
  #4  
Old 08-01-05, 05:25 PM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 592
Originally Posted by slickshift
You can test them by heating them up
The test procedure varies depending on what type of sensor it is

Are you sure it's not the gauge itself?

Advance should take it back if it's defective
i went back to advance and chewed them out and one of the guys there said alot of time they read some of the heat from the exhast, and this sensor for the gauge is right between spark 1 and 2
 
  #5  
Old 08-01-05, 05:26 PM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 592
Originally Posted by slickshift
Or hey, I'll test it for you:
Q: does it work?
A: ..................well, to me it looks like you're saying "no", so if you don't mind I'll put down that as your answer
A: No

Hey you just had it tested (by me) and I say "it's out of spec"
Advance should take it back now, you had a guy test it for you, and he said it was out of spec

If you want another one tell them I said it could just be the wrong one so double check the numbers


 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'