exhaust leak

Old 08-02-05, 08:20 PM
sr71000
Visiting Guest
exhaust leak

I'm really new to cars so if this is a stupid question, sorry. Whenever you get out of my car it always feels like there is an excess amount of very hot air coming out from under the car and if you feel my center console or anything toward the middle of my car it's always burning hot. My friend mentioned it may be an exhaust leak. Is there any way i can check for this and also, is this dangerous to my car?

Sponsored Links
Old 08-03-05, 07:46 AM
some info

If you had a exaust leak before the muffler you would hear it very loud.More then likely it is your cataltic convertor they get very hot.They can catch grass on fire.What kind of car and how old.

Old 08-03-05, 01:07 PM
An exhaust leak wouldn't make it feel any hotter underneath the car

Old 08-03-05, 05:08 PM
sr71000
Visiting Guest
it's a 92 chevy beretta. the only odd noise i hear is the rattling of the heat shield because my dad hit a huge puddle and bent it. Could that be why there's so much hot air coming out from under the car (my guess is that's what it is...sorry for not mentioning it earlier but i forgot about it, until someone mentioned listening for noises...lol)

Old 08-03-05, 05:14 PM
yep

That might be it a damaged heat shield will cause these symptoms.That is one reason they are there to protect parts around it and under it.Repair or replace it and your rattle will also go away.

Old 08-03-05, 08:34 PM
sr71000
Visiting Guest
it's been repaired 3 times but every time within a week my dad decides to try it out and bends it again...he loves to hit huge puddles and the spray bends the shield when it's hot...idiot. anyways....is there anything i can do myself?

Old 08-04-05, 05:34 AM
education

I think the only thing you can do is educate your dad on why it is not good to take a berreta 4 wheeling.Not only will it warp the thin sheet metal but also not very good on front CV boots.