Electrical Problem in 2005 Ford Focus

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-14-05, 05:24 PM
cjkeeme
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Electrical Problem in 2005 Ford Focus

Please help as I have no idea what I did to cause this.

I was hooking up some extra lights in my car and tapping off one of the empty fuse slots for power. Everything was working fine and I cleaned up and put everything back together. My lights were on and working fine. When I got into my car the next morning my odometer and speedometer were not working. The check "engine" light was on as well as the check "gas cap".

Anyone have any clue as to what I did and what I can do to fix it? It's all under warranty so I can easily just take it to the dealer, but if it's a simple fix I'd rather do it myself. I checked all the fuses and they were fine.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-14-05, 07:38 PM
hogfan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 352
Check the fuses inside the car and under the hood.
 
  #3  
Old 08-15-05, 09:52 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 161
If your care is under warranty, Take out what you did make sure they can't tell you tapped in the box, and then you can scam a job out of them. Sounds like you fried something if it is not a fused. Dealers are good at scamming us now, give them that respect back.
 

Last edited by shottys; 08-15-05 at 06:25 PM.
  #4  
Old 08-15-05, 02:57 PM
jon_k
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Yes, if they can tell you did ANY modifications to that car -- they'll note it in their records and you'll void warranty and you'll be on your own from now on.

Make that car look 100% unchanged, untampered and take it to them. If they find any evidence you played around with stuff -- you loose your warranty for the entire vehicle.

Didn't you know changing or doing anything yourself to a vehicle under warranty voids it?
 
  #5  
Old 08-15-05, 04:09 PM
hogfan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 352
You guys sure are hammering the dealers but the truth be known I have fixed several vehicles that someone has thrown parts at. Now which cost more? Your fix is take it to the dealer!
 
  #6  
Old 08-15-05, 06:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 161
Originally Posted by hogfan
You guys sure are hammering the dealers but the truth be known I have fixed several vehicles that someone has thrown parts at. Now which cost more? Your fix is take it to the dealer!

Just to post for the record i am friends with hundreds of mechanics, half of which are master techs, most work for the dealerships. This is the first one to stick up for the dealership, stating that they can't be compared to satan in a nut shell.

and yes we have all fixed vehicles people have thrown parts at.
 
  #7  
Old 08-16-05, 05:07 AM
HairyKnuckle's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 77
I think you all are off the subject. Won't it be best since this guy is a do it yourselfer to try to reset the computer on the car. On some cars I've had leaving the battery unattached for a period of time the computer would 'reboot' when reconnected to the battery. His manual may say more but if the fix is a simple one, isn't it best he try it rather than spending time in a dealership waiting room

He also didn't mention if he had disconnected the battery before he tried tapping into the fuse box.
 
  #8  
Old 08-16-05, 04:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa
Posts: 2,417
posting

Bad mouthing a dealership is not the answer the original poster is looking for and will not be tolerated.Please refrain from posting answers that don't help the person that posted the question.I will be watching and will edit or close the thread if needed.Thank you for your consideration in this matter.
 
  #9  
Old 08-16-05, 06:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,345
what kinda lights

What kind of lights did you install?Also what fuse soket did you use did you use a empty one for a option you do not have?
You might have tapped into a low amp circiut that is run by the computer
 
  #10  
Old 08-16-05, 08:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 161
Bad mouthing the dealer is exactly the answer he needs, that solves every problem. As for him reseting the ecu will not help his problem.
 
  #11  
Old 08-16-05, 09:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: nc
Posts: 616
Originally Posted by HairyKnuckle
I think you all are off the subject. Won't it be best since this guy is a do it yourselfer to try to reset the computer on the car. On some cars I've had leaving the battery unattached for a period of time the computer would 'reboot' when reconnected to the battery. His manual may say more but if the fix is a simple one, isn't it best he try it rather than spending time in a dealership waiting room
It's worth a try. Disconnect the new lights you installed then disconnect the battery for about 20 minutes. If that doesn't fix it, have the codes scanned somewhere such as autozone and post them back here.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes