87 ford ranger 2.9 efi idle

Old 08-14-05, 07:21 PM
Unhappy 87 ford ranger 2.9 efi idle

Re: 87 Ford Ranger, 2.9 Electronic fuel injection. I just purchased this vehicle and it appears to be a fair truck. The problem is that when you start the engine it searches for smooth idle and it won't idle when in gear and it dies when you give it gas until the engine warms up. The seller explained to me that this "thing a ma jig" needs to be replaced and that should cure the problem. The problem is I am no mechanic and I have no idea what the part is. I took a picture of it, but attachments are not allowed, so I will do my best to describe it. As you face the front of the engine, there is a "hose" about 4" in dia . The hose connects to the front top of the engine via a radiator clamp to another metal piece and that piece is bolted to the engine. The part that I am concerned about, is black plastic material and is attached to the the left side of the metal piece that the hose is attached to with two phillips screws. There an electric plug that is connected to this piece, and there are three wires from it and it looks like it goes back to a wiring harness some where. The piece itself is about 2 1/2" tall and about 1 3/4" wide. The plug that goes to it is about 2 1/2" tal and about 2'' wide. Perhaps with this info someone could help me. It looks like all a person would have to do is remove the two phillips screws to remove and replace, if in fact this thing will fix the problem. As always, thanks in advance for any advice.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-14-05, 07:47 PM
That sounds like TP sensor (throttle position sensor) be careful on replacing this so fast? I would check for a vacuum leak first. Rolling Idle

Old 08-14-05, 07:52 PM
Spray some WD40 or Choke cleaner around the lower intake manifold.While the engine is running. The idle should smooth out if leak is present. I have seen these gaskets leak. Sorry I forgot to say this in the first post.

Old 08-15-05, 05:38 AM