Suzuki Sammy Won't Start??...

Old 09-03-05, 09:16 AM
Suzuki Sammy Won't Start??...

Here's the story... my 1991 Suzuki Samurai JL 4WD was chewing up fan belts, so I took it to a local mechanic and he told me it was the alternator trying to lock up (he wanted $243 to replace it). Sooo... I decided to do it myself.
Being a rookie mechanic, I made a classic rookie mistake. I forgot to unhook the neg. battery cable.
When I unhooked the ground from the alternator it touched the body and killed the battery, and from what
I understand the solenoid on the starter. Replaced both of them. Now when I turn the key I get nothing, no lights, blinkers, or even hazards. No fuses are blown, and none of the wires coming from the alternator or starter/solenoid appear to be damaged. If I bridge the posts on the solenoid I get some sparks (and some clicking around the control module inside)so I think I have power to there. Any advice greatly appreciated...

Matt

Sponsored Links
Old 09-03-05, 10:33 AM
I assume you meant to say the 12v wire, not the ground wire touched the body. See if you have a large main fuse the positive battery cable connects too. I have one in my car that you have to unbolt to pull it out (not a typical looking fuse).....thinking you may have overlooked that.

Old 09-03-05, 10:36 AM
Thanks, Jeff, I'll check it out!....

Old 09-03-05, 10:37 AM
Also, if the battery is really dead, you'll need to recharge it or try jump starting it.

Old 09-03-05, 10:39 AM
Battery's brand new....tried to jump it, no luck....no lights or anything, either, while jumping...

Old 09-03-05, 01:10 PM
You may need a Wiring Diagram
Maybe autozone.com has one for you
There any fusable links in the ignition system?

Old 09-03-05, 01:15 PM
Hey, Slick, I'm at work now...will check it out when I get home, an hour or so...Think I may already have a wiring diagram copy...Thanks for the input...

Matt

Old 09-03-05, 02:24 PM