2001 Pontiac Sunfire blowers

Old 09-17-05, 01:29 PM
2001 Pontiac Sunfire blowers

Hi, I have what I think is a smiple problem but I don't know for sure. I want to see if I can fix it myself before I get the local dealer to fix it as he likes to charge massively high prices for parts and labour.

My issue is this. Speeds 1 and 2 of 4 on my blowers/fans in my 2001 Pontiac Sunfire are not working. This happened once before while the car was under warrenty so I got it fixed for free. Now I don't have that luxery. Speeds 3 and 4 work fine and I've been using speed 3 for my AC but it's been getting a little intense as the summer turns to autumn. I don't what highpowered air blowing when I don't need it.

Last time this happened, the tech said, and I'm not that technical, that a part in the engine has cracked and it needed to be replaced. It was a simple job. The fans are controled by 2 modules or something like that and the one that controls speeds 1 and 2 was broken/cracked. I'm just wondering if it IS a simple fix for a novice of car repair. I'd rather fix it myself but will take it in for repairs of I need to. I've been living with it for 2 months now and would really like it fixed.

Any info on the situation and/or repair tips would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time. Let me know if I can give more info. I guess it's a common problem so I'm hoping someone here will know what I'm talking about and be able to guide me in the right direction.

Thanks again!

--Ethan Smith

Sponsored Links
Old 09-17-05, 01:48 PM
Go google, lots of information on that simple repair, $20 to $30.

Old 09-17-05, 02:24 PM
Originally Posted by ethansmith
Hi, I have what I think is a smiple problem but I don't know for sure. I want to see if I can fix it myself before I get the local dealer to fix it as he likes to charge massively high prices for parts and labour.