Head problem chevy impala

Old 10-01-05, 01:41 PM
Head problem chevy impala

2000 chevy impala 3.4L auto ac.My sisters car over heated.IT was driven a few miles.Checked oil and it had coolant in it.Took heads off engine and when a straight edge is held on there is a .002 gap on one head. No gap on the other.Is this enough of a gap to cause a problem?Thankyou for the help.Posted another question a couple weeks ago and got real good advise.Thankyou.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-01-05, 06:50 PM
I would say that the head needs to be machined. Out of flatness should not exceed 0.001", from what I understand. Was this the rear head by chance? On these engines, the rear head gasket is prone to leaks for some odd reason. We do a ton of lower intake gaskets on these for oil and coolant leaks, with the occasional rear head gasket. In my time as a tech, I have never replace a front cylinder head on this engine style unless there was a severe overheating issue, and those were the 2.8 and the 3.1 engine. The 3.4 is pretty much identical to the ones mentioned.

You may want to call the local machine shop to verify machining is needed. I cannot access the shop's service info specs from home to back up my statement. Let us know how everything goes.

Old 10-01-05, 07:37 PM
It was the front head but the rear head gasket looks like it may have been leaking.When it got low on coolant and heated up front head may have warped.I am taking the heads to machine shop monday. Thanks for info.

Old 10-02-05, 12:48 AM
You should be good at .002"

Check this out http://www.federal-mogul.com/cda/con...9_7519,00.html

Last edited by toyotaman11769; 10-02-05 at 01:01 AM.
Old 10-02-05, 07:50 AM