Astro or Aerostar?

Old 11-06-05, 01:16 PM
Astro or Aerostar?

I'm thinking that I'm going to have to replace my trusty old Chevy van soon. It's starting to rust beyond what I can fix, and the mileage is awful. I'm a plumber and need a cargo van that can carry a fair amount of weight. I've been looking at the Chevy Astro (or GMC Safari) and Ford Aerostar vans. I'll have to pare down what I carry in either case, but that should be ok. I'll be trying to find a used, lo-mileage van.

The question is, what's it like to service a Chevy Astro? I usually do my own work on vehicles, and it looks like murder to do anything on one of these (why didn't Chevy hinge the grille for access?). It looks difficult to work on it whether I do the work, or someone else does, which means it would be expensive to service and maintain.

The Aerostar looks easier to work on, but that's probably because the engine is smaller (3.0L vs 4.3L in the Chevy/GMC) and I wonder if it's undersized for hauling a regular load around town. The load is probably around 500 lbs, city driving in San Francisco, which is hilly.

I guess Iím asking two questions: how hard is it to do simple maintenance on an Astro, and does the Aerostar have enough power to haul a plumberís tool up & down hills? Or, am I dreaming & should start looking for a full size van?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-06-05, 02:57 PM
My father was a plumber and he too use to "pare" down his stuff. A E-150 was too small and was always overloaded. He had to have leafs added to the springs. Use to wear tires and just plain abused the vehicle cause its use exceeded its capacity.

Your not going to cut it using a Astro or Areostar. The min a plumber needs is a E-250 or a C-20

Last edited by toyotaman11769; 11-07-05 at 09:45 AM.
Old 11-07-05, 05:21 AM
andyny02
Visiting Guest
Lightbulb