Crank Position Sensor


  #1  
Old 11-21-05, 08:36 AM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 591
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Crank Position Sensor

How would someone know if that sensor is going out, because i took my car in to see why it doesnt run very well in the cold. In the cold when you go start it, it will start right up but then it will die couple seconds later if you don't hold the gas down. and if it hasnt warmed up for about 30 mins i will park it in reverse and the whole car rattles then i go put it in drive and go hit the gas and no response for a couple seconds, then it goes.

Anyhelp would be very helpful.
Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 11-21-05, 09:46 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 20,214
Received 1,177 Likes on 1,135 Posts
I believe that a bad crankshaft positioning sensor would cause a code to be dumped into the computer. I would start by having that checked. I have heard that autozone stores will download codes for free in hopes that you then buy the parts to fix the problem from them.
 
  #3  
Old 11-21-05, 10:02 AM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 591
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
well the service engine light comes on but it goes off before i can get to auto zone, and it only comes on after drivin a long time.
 
  #4  
Old 11-21-05, 11:55 AM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 20,214
Received 1,177 Likes on 1,135 Posts
Even if the CEL goes off, there still should be a code in the computer.
 
  #5  
Old 11-21-05, 12:19 PM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 591
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by J.M.C.
Even if the CEL goes off, there still should be a code in the computer.
they said it was a softcode, not a hardcode
whatever that means
 
  #6  
Old 11-21-05, 12:48 PM
S
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 20,214
Received 1,177 Likes on 1,135 Posts
Well, now you've got me stumped. But fear not, there are others here whose knowledge of cars dwarfs mine.
 
  #7  
Old 11-21-05, 01:44 PM
I
Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 193
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I'm curious as to why you think it's a crankshaft position sensor related problem? I would be looking for vacuum leaks, EGR problems, and clean the TB and MAF well before I resorted to that.
 
  #8  
Old 11-21-05, 02:05 PM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 591
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
if it was a vacuum leak why does it only do it when its below freezing
 
  #9  
Old 11-21-05, 07:39 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 79
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
how bout the air intake tempature sensor?
 
  #10  
Old 11-22-05, 12:32 AM
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,531
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sounds like the TB is icing up, I'm pretty sure you should have some type of heated air system. One of those tubes that send warm air into the air cleaner while the engine is cold.
 
  #11  
Old 11-22-05, 06:58 AM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 591
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by toyotaman11769
Sounds like the TB is icing up, I'm pretty sure you should have some type of heated air system. One of those tubes that send warm air into the air cleaner while the engine is cold.
That My Car Doesn't Have
 
  #12  
Old 11-22-05, 07:00 AM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 591
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by rob24chevy
how bout the air intake tempature sensor?
Mine Has A Air Charge Temperature Sensor, And The Air Temp Sensor Is On The Block
 
  #13  
Old 11-22-05, 09:53 AM
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,531
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Not totally familiar with GM by know understand there is a pre-heater under the TB that heats mixture up. It is electric; it will also cause a check engine light if faulty
 
  #14  
Old 11-22-05, 10:02 AM
chevyastro4x4's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Watertown
Posts: 591
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ok, i know when i plug it in at night it isnt as bad. but the guy said prolli because the oil is warm and the crank sensor has a better reading, but i think im going to replace it and have the ICM and the coils tested
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: