Antifreeze In The Oil

Old 12-12-05, 07:27 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Antifreeze In The Oil

How could someone tell if there was antifreeze in the oil, and if there was why?

Old 12-12-05, 07:54 PM
S
Wow, wouldn't it just be easiest, and best to change the oil if you're in doubt? A 5W 30, in SD, would probably be sufficient and you wouldn't need the added protection of antifreeze, although I don't see antifreeze in your engine oil as anything but trouble. Personally, although I'm no pro nor moderator, I'd just change the oil.

Old 12-12-05, 10:35 PM
what size engine? antifreeze in the oil is indeed trouble, wouldn't start it, run it or do anything till the problem was found out. antifreeze (dexcool maybe?) say it was 50/50 mixed with water.....water in the oil is bad to the bearings when its running. if its a 4.3 liter. intakes are known for intake gaskets going, leaking antifreeze, more with dexcrud, does it have a oil cooler in the radiator? or external? anyway, when if its found and fixed.... change the oil of course, but change it in short intervals, maybe 500 to 1,000 miles to make sure its all out, oils cheap, engines ain't. there are also oil analysis machines labs use (may find one online) they take the oil, analyze it to find out its composition, and can indeed find out if there is antifreeze in the oil, compared to fresh samples of what your using.

Old 12-12-05, 11:29 PM
Z
well i think you mean like antifreeze and oil mixed right? It usually forms a greyish milky like substance. If your oil doesnt look like regular oil, that might be an indicator. If you've got antifreeze in your oil you may have a bad headgasket or head. Not good. If youve driven it like that for a while, your engine might be toast.

if its your grand am, good luck, those quad four gm engines are known for having head problems

Old 12-13-05, 05:59 AM
Originally Posted by v8driver