76 ranchero 351-400M

Old 01-02-06, 12:32 AM
76 ranchero 351-400M

to begin.I am a carpenter. nuff said
I picked up a 76 Ranchero, 351-400m GT, first replaced the started switch on the steering column ( not teh key switch) to get her home. rebuilt teh motorcraft 2bbl carb, w/help from a (friend) who also stole teh metering rod from My carb, and also removed most of teh tags I had for teh vacuum lines. so I purchased another carb (used pretty beat up lookin) and rebuilt it again. while I was trying to replace teh vacuum lines in order ( not sure if they are right or not) teh vehicle was backfiring HARD, i noticed that teh catalytic converters were turning Bright red in a matter of minutes. so I removed teh cats ( both) and continued with teh carb/vacuum lines and timing. ( forgot to mention in this time I replaced cap, rotor, wires, plugs. )now the car wont start at all, tonight while scratching My (head) looking at teh engine, I decided to try cheching for spark, I removed teh # wire from plug, and held it near teh plug (Head??) while turning her over. this produced a strong spark, and while I was holding the wire, she started and idled rough but better that ever since I started on her, However, while running I attempted to put teh wire back onto teh plug, she died, and wouldnt run, I removed the wire and tried again, watching teh spark, she ran.replaced teh wire to teh plug and she died..................why???
please dont make fun of Me.like I said Im a Carpenter, and pretty good one too, but Im not a mechanic, never claimed to be, yet Im too impovershed to take her to a professional.............can someone help ME
Lost in Az

Sponsored Links
Old 01-02-06, 05:37 PM