Crown Victoria Performance

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-06-06, 07:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: backwoods of pennsylvania
Posts: 135
Crown Victoria Performance

Is there any easy way to get more horsepower out of the Ford Crown Victoria Police Cars, like a turbo, supercharger, or is crate motor the only way to go?

Did these cars ever come with a standard transmission?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-06-06, 10:17 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,538
an engine should be built specifically for running a supercharger or turbocharger as there usually run lower compression and may also have larger ring gap specs.
you might be able to install a power module or chip depending on year that would help, along with a more free flowing exhuast system and headers.
 
  #3  
Old 02-06-06, 10:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: backwoods of pennsylvania
Posts: 135
The thing is is that I dont own a crown vic yet, but I am going to be buying one with 6 months. Hopefully it will be one of the police interceptors.
 
  #4  
Old 02-06-06, 03:23 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,345
warning warning

A friend of mine bought a crown vic police interceptor from the Auston police department.
I had quite a conversation with him about his car and as cool as it is beware these cars are driven hard.My advice would be to get one from a constable,or sheriff not just a reg police car.
Also there are extra wires and such for the lights that they remove and they just chop them off and tape up the ends.
Also they come with no spare tire.
His is already broken down he was doing a high speed pass trying to pass someone on the interstate punched the gas to the floor and heard a bang as it turned out his trannie went belly up.
If you want plain jane no carpet,vinal seat,cant open back doors from inside kind of car the police car is for you.
Just beware the cars are driven hard and many sit for hours just at idle.
 
  #5  
Old 02-06-06, 03:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 948
not that i'm a ford performance expert, but i belive the only way to get one to move is the installation of a big block chevrolet engine....
 
  #6  
Old 02-06-06, 04:09 PM
Bubba Bob
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Originally Posted by flopshot
not that i'm a ford performance expert, but i belive the only way to get one to move is the installation of a big block chevrolet engine....
Yeah, but he wants his Crown Vic to move w/o a tow truck
 
  #7  
Old 02-06-06, 05:19 PM
v8driver's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 767
Originally Posted by Bubba Bob
Yeah, but he wants his Crown Vic to move w/o a tow truck
Usually its the chevy, towing the other...

But as for the police car..... like van said, they are run hard, they do carry out the regular maintenance, most either set running for hours on end, and then the heck run out of them, or spend most of the time getting the heck run out of em... thats why they have oil coolers on them. You can do a performance cam, performance intake, injectors, a chip, etc.
 
  #8  
Old 02-07-06, 06:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: backwoods of pennsylvania
Posts: 135
Thanks for all the advice guys.

The only time I have ever seen a chevy tow truck, it had a ford towing it.
 
  #9  
Old 02-08-06, 06:03 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Livonia, Michigan
Posts: 923
You may want to hook up with these guys:
crownvic.us
crownvicnet
 
  #10  
Old 02-08-06, 07:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 361
Exclamation our442

Originally Posted by speeddrivenkid
Thanks for all the advice guys.

The only time I have ever seen a chevy tow truck, it had a ford towing it.
Ford towtrucks are for show .GMC is for go get the job done.
 
  #11  
Old 02-10-06, 04:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: backwoods of pennsylvania
Posts: 135
its
 
  #12  
Old 02-10-06, 04:54 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 948
it is what it is. it's tough for a chevy guy not to chuckle when someone asks how to make a ford run.
 
  #13  
Old 02-10-06, 03:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: backwoods of pennsylvania
Posts: 135
Does anyone know, did the Crown Victoria ever come with a standard transmission?
 
  #14  
Old 02-10-06, 06:20 PM
LouBazooka's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 553
you mean manual transmission ? no i dont think so, never seen one.
 
  #15  
Old 02-11-06, 06:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: backwoods of pennsylvania
Posts: 135
yes, I mean manual. Ok thanks anyways.
 
  #16  
Old 05-04-06, 03:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: backwoods of pennsylvania
Posts: 135
I was told that instead of doing a whole engine replacement which would take alot, and I mean alot of work, that putting a blower on there would be a lot easier and cheaper.
 
  #17  
Old 05-05-06, 03:28 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,538
while you can probably get a blower and run it at low boost pressures without a problem not sure you are going to gain much performance, to run higher boost pressures the engine needs to be built specifically for running a blower.
as per cost you could probably build an engine that has more hp that is naturaly aspirated for about the same price as a blower setup running low boost pressures on a stock engine not factoring in labor as the engine would require more labor.
 
  #18  
Old 05-05-06, 05:22 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,292
I've never seen an interceptor with stick, and I've driven a few.
It's tough enough balancing a cup of coffee, a donut (had to say it), and answer the radio without have to fool with a stick shift.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes