91 chevy caprice failed emissions

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-10-06, 08:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
91 chevy caprice failed emissions

someone help me out please. my caprice with a 5.0 305 motor failed its emission renewal. wires plugs and air filter seem to be good. the tech . that tested me said i BARELY failed because of unburned hydrocarbons[gas]. should i replace the oxygen sensor? smog pump? any help would be great
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-10-06, 10:18 AM
LouBazooka's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 553
Originally Posted by BiggWaukegan
someone help me out please. my caprice with a 5.0 305 motor failed its emission renewal. wires plugs and air filter seem to be good. the tech . that tested me said i BARELY failed because of unburned hydrocarbons[gas]. should i replace the oxygen sensor? smog pump? any help would be great



Change Fuel & Air Filter, Change Spark Plugs,PCV Valve, Switch to a higher octane gasoline and go from there, no reason to believe smog pump or oxygen sensors yet, by the way I'm assuming your computer is not throwing any codes right ?
 
  #3  
Old 02-10-06, 01:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
No codes being sent out. ill try what u said.i guess :nfunny:
 
  #4  
Old 02-10-06, 04:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 361
Exclamation our442

Originally Posted by BiggWaukegan
someone help me out please. my caprice with a 5.0 305 motor failed its emission renewal. wires plugs and air filter seem to be good. the tech . that tested me said i BARELY failed because of unburned hydrocarbons[gas]. should i replace the oxygen sensor? smog pump? any help would be great
Sometimes the best way to pass E test is to run fuil cleaner in gas and give car nice long drive .
 
  #5  
Old 02-10-06, 07:05 PM
New guy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 435
No engine light/code, hydrocabon reading high= engine temp low(cold), give it a good run on highway speed then come back and retest it, don't let it run at idle for too long prior to do the test.
 

Last edited by New guy; 02-11-06 at 03:56 AM.
  #6  
Old 02-10-06, 10:59 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,538
if you havent had an oil change done recently you can probably lower the hc a little just by changing the oil.
might check vacum lines and repair any damaged vacum lines as a vacum leak can cause hc to be high also.
 
  #7  
Old 02-11-06, 07:39 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 759
Try a couple of small bottles of gasline antifreeze (alcohol) in the tank with some fresh gas, and make sure you give it a good highway run prior to test, to heat up catalytic converter to optimum temperature. If your that close, this should get a pass next time
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes