Heater Fan Not Working - '92 Ford Ranger

Old 02-18-06, 09:00 AM
E
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Heater Fan Not Working - '92 Ford Ranger

I'm hoping there's a quick fix to this ... it's -28C. here!

The fan motor on my Ranger intermittently refuses to start (typically on the coldest day of the year It will work for a week then not for a day or so.

I think it is electrical because when I press the AC button (not that I need it), the red light doesn't even come on. (Note: the rotary control for the fan & the AC switch are the same control). Maybe this is related--the fan motor was making some whining sounds last month but they quit after about a week. Fan seemed good after that but I suspected that the motor was seizing up. Also, the truck is in rough shape so rust/bad connections & ground could be an issue.

Obviously I'm not a mechanic but I can tinker a bit, especially if I can see a picture of what I'm dealing with. Where exactly is the fan motor? What else could I check?

Any ideas appreciated.

Old 02-18-06, 10:23 AM
G
Received 2 Upvotes on 2 Posts
Check out the autozone web site. They have a good page on your heater blower - removal and installation.
Check for, and clean up any grounding spots. Rig a test light or use a volt meter to see that you have power at the blower when the switch is on. With a 14 year old blower, I would suspect that the brushes are about shot. This is a throwaway part, not usually rebuild able.

Old 02-18-06, 01:58 PM
E
Originally Posted by goldstar
With a 14 year old blower, I would suspect that the brushes are about shot. This is a throwaway part, not usually rebuild able.
As I suspected but I have to keep this truck limping along until I can afford a new one.