98 ford explore radio

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-07-06, 05:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
98 ford explore radio

The lights quit working in the radio, all other lights in and around the radio still work. Can someone shed some light on what I'm in for.
Thanks
Redbone
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-07-06, 05:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 72
Does the Radio Still work?

If it does and you can live without the light's don't worry with it.

If it doesn't or you can't live without the lights. Replace it.

Also I had a radio once that occasionly the lights would stay on but the radio would die. Turns out that they used a seperate fuse for each.

If you are the truly couragous type and good with electronics, then you might attempt to repair the radio. It is probably something simple inside the radio. Like a blown fuse inside the unit. Or perhaps just a loose wire. Or maybe a burned compenent. Of course to help diagnose these problems a schematic would be helpful. Consider contacting Ford. However they most probably have a thrid party manufacturing there radios. You might look for that label on the radio where all the labeling is.

These are my thoughts on the matter, Hope it helps.
 
  #3  
Old 03-08-06, 09:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by power453
Does the Radio Still work?

If it does and you can live without the light's don't worry with it.

If it doesn't or you can't live without the lights. Replace it.

Also I had a radio once that occasionly the lights would stay on but the radio would die. Turns out that they used a seperate fuse for each.

If you are the truly couragous type and good with electronics, then you might attempt to repair the radio. It is probably something simple inside the radio. Like a blown fuse inside the unit. Or perhaps just a loose wire. Or maybe a burned compenent. Of course to help diagnose these problems a schematic would be helpful. Consider contacting Ford. However they most probably have a thrid party manufacturing there radios. You might look for that label on the radio where all the labeling is.

These are my thoughts on the matter, Hope it helps.
Radio works fine, it's just a pain in the *** when you can't see the station numbers. So. you find yourself listening to some station until they ID the station and go from there. (blind so to speak) on one other forum they suggested it might be one of those radios that have a solid state board and one place quoted me $300.00 to replace the board. needless to say what my answer was.
Thanks anyway.
The Redbone
 
  #4  
Old 03-09-06, 01:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 361
Change it with scrap yard unit but have them check it before you pay. (This is juist my opinion.)
 
  #5  
Old 03-17-06, 01:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
I had this, it's not uncommon.
What I did was take the radio to a customizer that also installs remote starters in cars. They knew of someone that repairs the remotes for them, and that person also knew how to repair the ford radios when the display goes out.
Cost me $125.00 and it has been fine.
Maybe that is something you can do. Good luck!
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:35 PM.