Need a pickup topper... suggestions?

Old 03-08-06, 05:18 PM
Group Moderator
Need a pickup topper... suggestions?

I've got a 2002 Ford F-150 supercab w/short box and I'd like to put a nice topper on the back that is painted to match my truck (dark blue). I'd like the topper to have maximum headroom, because I'm a carpenter and plan on putting a lot of stuff in back- maybe getting one of those slide out bed organizers someday.

At any rate, the only brand I've seen is LEER, (thinking about the LEER Model 100XQ) and I was wondering if there are any other good brands you'd recommend, as well as what I might expect to pay for a topper that matches my truck?

Sponsored Links
Old 03-09-06, 04:30 PM
snug top

Snug top makes some fine looking toppers.

Old 03-09-06, 04:41 PM
Not sure where you are located but I have seen several custom truck places in TN that do an incredible job. It may cost a little bit more but you can have it built exactly how you want it. It would pay off for you in the long run with efficency since you will be working out of it.

Old 03-09-06, 07:00 PM
Last summer I purchased a F150 Supercrew which is very similar to your truck. I ordered a fiberglas truck cap by A.R.E. You can get all sorts of bells and whistles, but as I just wish to secure tools, material and luggage, all I got was swing-open windows on both sides. This sure does facilitate loading and unloading. It was a perfect color match and looks great. I paid around $1200. My only complaint is that the windows are tinted and with the after-market tint on the rear truck window I can hardly see anything out the back at night. I want to remove the tint on the truck window and wish I could do so on the forward cap window.

Old 03-09-06, 07:45 PM
Group Moderator