Blue Smoke

Old 04-30-06, 07:46 AM
Blue Smoke

My wife has noticed some blue smoke from the tailpipe when she starts her car. There is a slight smell of oil. This only happens when the car is cold. Could this be a problem with the rings?

Sponsored Links
Old 04-30-06, 07:59 AM
Blue smoke from exhaust

I'm not a mechanic, but I was told once that black smoke is oil. Blue smoke is a fuel problem.

Old 04-30-06, 08:39 AM
OK. If it is fuel what could the problem be? And the smell of oil, would that be related to the same problem?

Old 04-30-06, 09:14 AM
Blue smoke from exhaust

As I mentioned, I'm not a mechanic. But, I was just thinking. I have a riding lawnmower that blows out a bunch of blue smoke when I first start it. Then when I shut the choke, the smoke goes away. I believe a choke ensures plenty of fuel to help it get started. Just as a push mover has the little pump ball that you push three times before starting. At first, Blue smoke pours out. So maybe the problem is your burning too much fuel. Yet, cars these days are too complicated for me to understand or remedy. When I had this problem with my 1973 Grand Prix, I don't recall what we did to fix it. Hopefully, a knowledged mechanic will answer this thread for you soon.

Old 04-30-06, 09:58 AM
did some research on the blue smoke

Blue smoke is caused by engine oil entering the cylinder area and being burned along with the fuel air mixture. If it's not too bad, the research recommended using a thicker oil weight, or a additive that may seal the leak.

In addition, I was wrong! Black smoke is from burning too much fuel. Blue is oil and fuel. Sorry! I found this info bydoing a Google search "Blue Exhaust Smoke."

Old 04-30-06, 10:13 AM
Originally Posted by michaeleast1
I'm not a mechanic, but I was told once that black smoke is oil. Blue smoke is a fuel problem.
Sorry, but you've got that backwards.

Old 04-30-06, 10:18 AM
Originally Posted by pkotwas