Gas is KILLING me

Old 05-01-06, 07:47 AM
Gas is KILLING me

Hey everyone,
as you know, the price of gas is skyrocketing and, having an suv, my wallet is feeling the effects of it. i'm looking for some good ways to get a few extra miles per gallon. right now i'm only getting about 12-14 city. if this means investing in new parts, i'm all for it. i have a 2002 Ford Explorer EXT.
any ideas?
thanks for everything

Sponsored Links
Old 05-01-06, 08:01 AM
Lightbulb

Im no expert but if you go to your local "Advance Auto parts" store, they have addititives like "Lucas fuel injector cleaner" it cleans your entire fuel system so your fuel will burn cleaner and its supposed to boost you gas mileage also, they also have other addititives also but i say lucas products are the best, you can always consider lucas products (other products are good too though), another bet would be to change your spark plugs and your spark plug wires so your engine wont skip and waste gas (bad spark plugs and wires also lower your gas mileage because when your engine skips it dont burn the gas injected, and that gas is lost). (Marvel Mystery oil is also a good fluid that you can add to your gas and oil you might want to consider looking at that too)

Old 05-01-06, 08:06 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
A tune up and properly inflated tires. A new air filter if not included in the tune up.

Depending on where you go, and the weather, a bicycle for short trips. You could even carry it in your EXT.

Old 05-01-06, 08:22 AM
thanks guys, i'll be sure to do all suggested.
as far as air filters go, does anyone have any opinions on the Tornado Fuel Saver? it's basically an airfilter that swirls the air around and moves it faster so that SOMEHOW you get an increase in fuel by 7-28%
any thoughts?

Old 05-01-06, 08:31 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
That product has been discussed here recently. Also the Feds have tested 100's of these type of items and they all fall into the general category of snake oil.