Oil in tires via air compressor?

Old 06-26-06, 06:58 AM
JHP
Oil in tires via air compressor?

I know very little about car engines but since everyone else here does I registered to get an opinion I can depend on. In order to keep my family's tires at the proper presssure I just purchased a very high quality digital pressure guage and a Sears Craftsman 1 HP air compressor. This is the compressor I got:

http://www.sears.com/sr/javasr/produ...id=00915310000

If the link does not work it is a 1 HP machine with a 3 gallon tank. I paid $125 for it.

I have never used an air compressor before and I wanted one that would provide enough "juice" to do the tires. I have 2 questions.

1. It uses oil. Do I have to worry about oil residue getting into the tires when I add air? I read somwhere on the Net that this could possibly happen.

2. When I add air, do I keep it running or do I run it to build up pressure then turn it off and use the pressurized air. I really do not understand the concept of the tank. If I run the pressure up to say 80 (it goes to 125 I guess) is that enough to supply the air I need to add a few pounds in each tire?

Sorry for the ignorance but I just have no experience in these areas.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-26-06, 07:32 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
#1 - there shouldn't be any problem with oil residue. I doubt any oil would be present in the air and if there was it wouldn't be enough to harm anything.

#2 - First let the tank build up some pressure [atleast 75psi], let it continue to run [it will cycle on and off if neccesarry]

Be sure to drain the tank when you are done using the compressor for the day, this will remove any water in the tank - which the air compressor produces while building pressure. If you use any air tools be sure to oil them before use.

Old 06-26-06, 07:38 AM
JHP