97 S-10 Blazer A/C Help

Old 08-05-06, 01:58 PM
97 S-10 Blazer A/C Help

The A/C on my 97 Blazer stopped blowing about a week ago. After a little research, I replaced the blower motor resistor, hoping that would solve the problem. It did, but only for about 5 minutes. Next, I replaced the blower motor and installed another new resistor (in case the other had gone bad). My A/C worked for about 10 minutes, but didn't work the next morning when I started it up. I suspect it may be a short but am not sure what to do next. I am not very experienced with auto repair but cannot afford to take it anywhere at this time. Any help is greatly appreciated. If I should begin to check for a short, how should I go about doing that.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-05-06, 07:37 PM
Originally Posted by tmoniz76
Any help is greatly appreciated. If I should begin to check for a short, how should I go about doing that.
If you don't have a Chilton's manual for your truck, you could try either buying one or borrowing one from the local public library. I prefer the "Total Care" manuals personally, they are generally more detailed. These manuals have wiring diagrams that could help you. Your library might actually have actual Chevrolet or GMC manuals you could refer too.

I didn't see wether or not you replaced any fuses? Generally if there is a short, they are the first to go. Since you replaced the blower fan and resistor with new ones and had the same problem, I'd start by checking all the power connections to the blower for overall condition. You could have a open or a short in the circuit. If you have access to a DVM you could probe the blower motor leads while the system is on to see if there is power to the motor. It's not hard work, just time consuming because you have to trace the wiring all the way back till you find the problem.

Christopher

Old 08-05-06, 10:07 PM