90 Ford Econoline E-150 Fuel leak/stalls on front tank, runs fine on rear

Old 09-15-06, 11:51 AM
90 Ford Econoline E-150 Fuel leak/stalls on front tank, runs fine on rear

Hello,

I bought my 1990 E-150 5.8L this year with about 132K on it; it's a conversion , and I'll start by saying I'm no mechanic but I can read a manual and follow most directions.

There are a couple of issues - I'll start with the most important - the fuel leak. Right now when I switch from rear to front it takes about 5-10 seconds and the engine starts sputtering - it will eventually die (whether on the highway at 60mph or sitting in the driveway). Before it dies, switching back to rear clears it up almost immediately. My mechanic (the one I won't go to anymore) replaced the oxy sensor (said it was bad) and sent me home saying the problem was not happening when it is. I know a gas leak will cause this condition - any tricks on easily finding the leak (without using matches)?

I took some pics while underneath and would also like some help identifying these three parts: http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/

HISTORY:

Other than a transmission leak, it ran well for about 500 miles on the way home from the place of purchase and had decent mileage - 15/16 mpg with 2 people, 3 kayaks and gear. My mechanic fixed the transmission problem and a few other issues but I noticed after picking it up the exhaust was very rich and the mileage decreased considerably - 12mpg. (I mentioned it but of course he didn't notice it or do anything wrong)