astro overheating not the thermostat

Old 10-03-06, 08:52 PM
astro overheating not the thermostat

1987 astro started acting wierd. When moving down the road,the temp used to climb to about 140f and stay. It started climbing to about 200f and then would slowly drop to about 170f and this cycle would continue. I replaced thermostat with new 195f (recommendded) and it continued exactly the same. I just replaced with a 160f (approved) and now it cycles the same way only between 110f-125f instead of 170f-200f. I could live with this except that when it gets below freezing this winter, it will not put out enough heat. Both heater hoses are fairly new.(one more note, at idle the temp stays at 110.) I am wondering if it is the fan clutch.

Last edited by jefpcon; 10-03-06 at 09:06 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 10-04-06, 05:16 AM
I'm not an auto mechanic, just a do-it-yourselfer with an opinion. So, this is just what I'm thinking.

"When moving down the road,the temp used to climb to about 140f and stay." This doesn't sound right. Seems to me it should have climbed to between 185F and 200F or so, then droppped back when the thermostat opened.

"It started climbing to about 200f and then would slowly drop to about 170f and this cycle would continue." That's sounds reasonable for a 195F thermostat. I think it was okay at this point.

"I replaced thermostat with new 195f (recommended) and it continued exactly the same. " That reinforces my belief that the original thermostat was okay.

"I just replaced with a 160f (approved) and now it cycles the same way only between 110f-125f instead of 170f-200f." Odd to me; would expect it to cycle between say 150F and 170F with this thermostat.

"I could live with this except that when it gets below freezing this winter, it will not put out enough heat. " If you put the 195F thermostat back in you'll get a hotter heater core for the winter.

I'm wondering why you think that the temperature cycling between 170F and 200F is a problem?