12v oulets

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-20-06, 04:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7
Question 12v oulets

I have a '96 Chev.1500 Silverado that has a factory installed cluster of of 3 12v power outlets, one on top that's open for the lighter and 2 others beneath with spring covers on them. The open one works fine but the two below don't. I checked for a blown fuse in the fuse box under the hood, but found none. Is there another set of fuses that I'm missing that could be the culprit? Or is there another possible cause? Thanks for any feedback.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-20-06, 04:33 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
There should be a fuse panel inside the cab. Usually drivers side dash area. You usually have to open the drivers door to pull the panel out. There should be a fuses in there that should solve your problem. Also, check those receptacles for anything that may have blown them. I remember it took me an hour of putting in new fuses to figure out there was a dime down in the power outlet wich was blowing them.
 
  #3  
Old 10-20-06, 06:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7
I will take another look under the dash. I didn't see it the first time I looked. Will followup after I recheck there. Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 10-20-06, 07:27 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
It may not be "under" the dash. In my cars, theres a panel on the outside part of the drivers side dash. It should tell you in your Owners Manual.
 
  #5  
Old 10-20-06, 07:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: nc
Posts: 616
I think, but not sure, the fuse in question is fuse 7 25amp under the hood. Also check for a tripped circuit breaker.
 
  #6  
Old 10-21-06, 05:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 759
This may sound silly, but did you check the other 2 with the vehicle running? Sometimes the manufacturer will supply one with power, with key off, but the others only get power with engine running or in accessories position. Didn't see where you stated trying it with vehicle running, so thought i'd better ask.

Mike.B
 
  #7  
Old 10-21-06, 07:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 7
Mike B., for the record I did try them with ignition on and off with no success.

HotinOKC, the fuse panel was exactly where you said.

jeff67, you were spot on. It was indeed a blown 25amp fuse in slot 7. Problem solved.

Much obliged to all of you responders! I deeply appreciate your kindness in replying.

Have a blessed day.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'