Can't get fuel pump to run.........

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-22-06, 02:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 413
Can't get fuel pump to run.........

I have a 1987 Chevy Brazer K-5, I use it just to plow my driveway. I had it running the other day, took it down to the end of the driveway, put it in reverse, backed up 10 feet and the truck died. It was just like someone turned off the key. Put alittle gas in the carb, truck ran till gas was gone. I figured it was the fuel pump so I put a new one in, pump only. I turn the key on, can't hear a hum in the gas tank, and the truck won't start. Can you hear these pumps when the're running? Should I try priming the lines? Can't figure out why it won't start. Anyone have any ideas as of what could be wrong.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-22-06, 02:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wilmington
Posts: 4,219
fuel

2 things needed for fire, fuel and spark. If it ran with fuel in the carb, you have spark. Not sure when they went to pumps in the tank, which I assume yours is one. You can't always hear them, but you should be able to check for fuel at the carb. There are usually relays, fuses, etc, that may also be a problem.
 
  #3  
Old 10-22-06, 02:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 413
Would the pump have a fuse in the fuse box? I didn't even check the fuses.
 
  #4  
Old 10-22-06, 03:56 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,292
Some G M 's have a relay and fuse mounted in a box on the inner wheel well. I would start there.
 
  #5  
Old 10-22-06, 07:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6
hummm

they are all right if you still cant get it to pump try hot wiring to the battery and if it works it the conection or the wiring
 
  #6  
Old 10-23-06, 08:54 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 120
it has to be either relay or fuse if not wiring or connector damage somewhere

you should be able to hear something when the pump is running either easily or not easily, but at least something though

there is a FP test lead wire connector under the hood usually on driver side rear corner of the engine compartment, usually red color there should be a square relay nearby too, the FP test connector might be tucked where its not easily seen, hunt around

if you find it then connect hot battery source to it and see if the pump is pumping, and if it will start up and run


oil pressure switch could be cutting off the feed power to the pump too but is rare

good luck
 
  #7  
Old 10-24-06, 10:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 413
Can't find that test wire. I guess I'll just have to get a test light and see if there's power in the wire going to the pump.
 
  #8  
Old 10-25-06, 03:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 413
There is no power going to the gas tank sender. I followed the wires up to the firewall. They look like they go through the firewall to the fuse box. Just have to figure out which fuse runs the fuel pump.
 
  #9  
Old 10-26-06, 03:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 413
OK, put on a new relay, have power going through the wire harness to the fuel tank. Plugged harness together at fuel tank, truck still won't start, no gas to carb. Any ideas on what to check out next?
 
  #10  
Old 10-26-06, 03:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,345
fuel shut off?

Do you have a fuel shut off? they use them on many cars in case of a crash the bump will shut off fuel. My Ford has one in the trunk. It is called a inerta switch.
Not sure you have one but might be worth looking into.
 
  #11  
Old 10-27-06, 04:13 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,575
Hate to suggest it, but if you have power in the harness all the way to the tank and pump still won't run, gotta think "pump". If you have someone listen at the filler when you turn the key on there's no "hum"? Might try banging on the tank with a mallet or piece of 2x4. If you then get it to run going to be something inside, either pump or wiring.
 
  #12  
Old 10-29-06, 05:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 413
I used the old sender, it's only my plow truck for personal use, didn't want to pay $200.00 for a new sender if I didn't need it. I wire brushed all over the top of the old sender and cleaned the lock ring up pretty good. Could I be getting a bad ground from the wire thats on the gas tank right on the sending unit hole. I ran a new ground wire to that, maybe it's not getting a good ground where the lock ring locks the sending unit in itself?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes