Good ground or not?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-31-06, 02:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 412
Good ground or not?

If your fuel guage works, would that mean you have good ground to the fuel sensor? Still can't get pump to run, may have to drop the tank again and pull the sensor. Going to double check grounds again.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-31-06, 03:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Wilmington
Posts: 4,219
Not sure if there was a previous post, but if the pump will not run but the gas gauge does work, there is a good chance you have a bad pump. But not nesessarily. Are you sure the pump does not run, what are the symptoms, etc., etc.
 
  #3  
Old 10-31-06, 04:24 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Like Bill said, we need more info, type of car, motor size, year, etc. I don't see a bad ground on a fuel pump unless it was previously worked on and installed properly. You need to check ALL your fuses! NOT just the ones that refer to a fuel pump, etc. Many components share the same fuse.
 
  #4  
Old 10-31-06, 08:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: nc
Posts: 616
Check the fuel pump relay also.
 
  #5  
Old 11-01-06, 02:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 412
I put on a new relay. The wires going down to the gas tank sensor had no power, I had a bad ground wire coming from the engine compartment. I ran a new ground wire right from the battery down to the tank, put my tester on them had power to tank, pump still would run. I then ran a new hot wire right from the battery to the tank, now I have a new hot and ground right from the battery, pump runs. If I connect the pump to the old hot wire coming from the engine compartment, which has power, and to the new ground wire from battery, pump won't run. I test the new hot and ground from battery, test light has bright light, pump runs. If I test the old hot wire, which has power, and the new ground, test light has dim light and pump won't run. Any ideas on whats going on?
 
  #6  
Old 11-01-06, 04:06 PM
New guy's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 435
Too much resistance on the hot wire, could it be bad/loose/dirty connection and or voltage drops from relay to pump.

You need a volt meter to test and looking for voltage drops from each point of splice/connection.

Can you run a hot wire from relay to pump?.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes