1987 S10 Runs and Idles good but backfires when gas is given

Old 11-21-06, 02:04 PM
1987 S10 Runs and Idles good but backfires when gas is given

Hello, I have a 87' S10 2.5L and the engine is rebuilt and it starts and idles just fine but when you give it gas/push on the accelerator, it backfires through the throttle body. Any idea on what's wrong and how to fix it?

Sponsored Links
Old 11-21-06, 02:16 PM
I'm a planter not a mechanic but that sounds like the timing. Have you checked the timing and/or the timing advance?

Old 11-21-06, 02:17 PM
We're thinking it is the timing aswell but not sure on how to check it exactly.

Old 11-21-06, 02:26 PM
Do you have a timing light?

Old 11-21-06, 02:28 PM
Yes I have a timing light

Old 11-21-06, 02:45 PM
Maybe the people who know about this will correct me but here's what I would do.

Find the engine info sticker under the hood and find out how many degrees BTDC the timing should be set.
Hook the 2 power cords (red and black) on the light to the positive and neg. battery posts.
Hook the clamp on the light to the number one spark plug wire.
Start engine and point light at timing marks on harmonic balancer and see if the proper degrees BTDC are lit up when the light flashes.
Slowly speed up engine and see if timing advances properly.

Be careful and don't get wires, hands, etc. into fan belts, etc.

Old 11-21-06, 03:02 PM
Seems to me that a service manual is needed. But check firing order, timing, possibly valve adjustments. I am assuming the engine rebuild was done correctly and that cam timing is correct????

Old 11-21-06, 04:32 PM
When using the timing light and letting it idle, the timing mark is normally between 9 and 11 o'clock and when giving gas sometimes does advance a little.

Old 11-21-06, 05:14 PM
this is how a farmer would proceed