how to paint the side mirror

Old 11-27-06, 12:57 PM
Unhappy how to paint the side mirror

Hi, I just broke my side mirror when I tried to get into my garage. I call a garage to quote how much for repairing, they ask for $362 CDN! Even off-market still needs $250. That's too much. I search Ebay and got one used, just $45. But the problem is, my car is white and the used mirror is green. Anybody advice what tools and paint I should get and how to paint it step by step? I have never done this before and I found it cheaper and maybe fun to do it myself.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-27-06, 01:27 PM
what I would do

get the paint code from your car take the mirror to the auto paint shop and have them spray it.
If you want to do it yourself you would need to buy a bunch of stuff like spray gun air compressor the paint clear coat etc.
Around here it would cost about 30 bucks or if you know the painter a six pack of beer.
Or if you dont care how it looks spray it out of a spray can but dont expect a quality look.

Old 11-27-06, 01:34 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Hello, this is not a extremely difficult job. You just need to take your time doing it.

I would first recommend you tape off any part of the mirror you do not want sanded or painted.

To make the mirror come it's best and last a long time, do the following:

Get yourself some 120 & 220 grit sand paper.

Start roughing up that green paint with teh 12o grit paper. Try to make the sanding even across the whole mirror. Meaning, do not concentrate the sanding in one area as this will show in the new paint.

When done roughing up the paint, clean it off real good with either IPA (alcohol) or a damp cloth. You don't want any depris when painting.

Get yourself some spray primer, spray a nice even coat ovedr the area wanting to be painted. Once dried, take that 220 grit paper and sand the primer down, not completely, but enough to get the surface nice and smooth.

CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN