Help! someone did a hit and run on my volvo, need front-end advice

Old 12-24-06, 09:56 PM
Help! someone did a hit and run on my volvo, need front-end advice

Hello everybody,

great forum...

I have a nasty problem and two days to figure out what I'm going to do about it.

I have a 87 volvo 240 station wagon, I'm a small remodel contractor and my truck is blown for the time being so this is only my only work vehicle, so this is a big deal.

Anyway, I had it parked on the street the other night and someone in the adjacent parking lot must have backed into it pretty hard, damn Wingdome parking lot open till 3am, musta been a drunk frat boy. I didn't even notice until I drove it.

Visually: (no problem)
Okay the bumper cover popped off on the right side, and the left side front corner light is cracked w/ a little body damage just behind it (like a 2" horizontal gouge/scratch), that's it on inspection, looks very minor, but:
Drives: (problem)
the front end rocks side to side when I drive it, imagine two guys on opposite sides taking turns pushing down on the hood just above the wheels, pretty bad. the girlfriend followed me in her car and said it looked worse when I took right turns.

I checked both front wheels for play and the left wheel does have some play when I grab it at 9 and 3 o' clock and rock it left to right, up and down seems tight though... (maybe damaged tie rod end?) keep in mind I can change starters out and basic stuff like that but I'm no mechanic... especially foreign cars are new to me, I just know how to do basic stuff on older (pre-'85) american cars...

History: I just had a reputable volvo mechanic fix the ball joints and replace the Left tie rod end about 2 months ago... he only warned that after that kind of repair the assembly farther up may leak fluid around the end of the boot, but that's dry so I'm fairly confident this is solely from someone hitting me and not any kind of shoddy work.