Transporting And Rebuilding a 454.

Old 03-17-07, 01:17 PM
Transporting And Rebuilding a 454.

I need to transport a mid 80's chevy 454 without the tranny. Came from a motorhome and has about 40-60k miles. only maybe 1k miles since rebuild.

Now the logical way to move the thing would probably be by rented u-haul trailer since I have no pickup access.

I have two questions. First, if I go with the rented trailer approach, would strapped to a pallet be a good way to secure it? If not, then how? I have never done this before.

And second.... this may sound idiotic, but my better half wondered if it would fit in the back of her Lincoln Navigator. I said the thing probably weighs 700-800 lbs and might crush her floor/cargo area. Maybe not if set on a small pallet and strapped to it.

What is the best transporting method?

Thanx

Sponsored Links
Old 03-17-07, 04:17 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Go with your first option. Get a pallet with some 2x4 blocks underneither the motor and strap it down.

Do not throw it in the back of the Lincoln. This would become a 500 lb missile if any sudden stops. Not to mention the damage it would cause to the vehicle.

Old 03-17-07, 04:36 PM
Thanks! I am going with the uhaul method and engine hoist from united rentals. 21 for the trailer and 26 for the hoist. Could be worse.

Old 03-18-07, 11:26 AM
Transporting 454

Did you consider a rental van? Plus set the engine on a old used spare tire, without the rim so it doesn't roll, then set that on a pallet and chain the engine down to the pallet. You could rent the cherry-picker or engine lift to set the motor in the van from a rental store. If not at least unbolt the heads or completely disassemble the engine. You will just need new gaskets, not expensive for a gasket kit!

Old 03-18-07, 11:46 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
I knew a guy once who bored out a 454 to the hilt (they can be bored out a lot) and put it in a Chevette! A rocket on wheels.

Old 03-18-07, 04:47 PM