Defrosting air conditioner

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-07-07, 09:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Defrosting air conditioner

I have a 1996 Mazda B2300. The air conditioner blows cold air but only thru the defrost vents. It appears that the damper that changes the air discharge from defrost to front vents does not operate. Is this an electrical or vacum problem.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-08-07, 02:04 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,345
check this

It might be a mechanical problem. with truck off and in a quiet place move switch what do you hear? The Jap trucks like to keep it simple and many are run with a cable or wire setup.
 
  #3  
Old 06-08-07, 05:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Livonia, Michigan
Posts: 923
Do you hear any vacuum action (hissing) when operating the controls? When there is no vacuum, the system defaults to defrost mode for safety reasons.
 
  #4  
Old 06-08-07, 03:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,345
I did this

OK I have more time to explain a way to find out how it works, First it is either vaccum,electrical or mechanical. If it has a slide control it is most likley a mecanical hooked to a cable that moves a door. try the following steps engine off key on, in a quiet area with all door chimes etc off. Move the control you will hear either a whirrr of a electric moter or a hiss of a vaccum pot moving the door or if a cable you will feel the resistance of the cable and hear it moving.
When I do it in my pickup I hear the moter behind the glove box and mine is a turn switch. My old Datsun had a cable on a slide switch. My Ford has a vaccum that will move the door untill I step on the brake exausting the air from the tank.
 
  #5  
Old 06-09-07, 09:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Vacuum

I got to looking closer and found a little vacuum hose that was broken. The hose comes from the intake manifold and goes into a ball under the air filter. From there it goes thru the firewall were the a/c is mounted. I fixed the hose and it works right. I don't know if it is just vacuum or electric over vacuum.
Thanks for all your input.

Kim
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'