2002 windstar test ac high pressure switch


  #1  
Old 06-30-07, 08:04 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question 2002 windstar test ac high pressure switch

My mechanic told me to replace the AC high pressure switch but for $72 I want to make sure it is bad. It is a 3 pole switch on a 2002 ford windstar 3.8 v-6. Can I test it with a simple voltage/ohms tester? My mechanic said the compressor would run only if he jumped the wires on the switch plug so I would assume the switch should have continuity on at least two poles. That does not seem to be the case though.
 
  #2  
Old 06-30-07, 08:56 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,754
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
If he can get the compressor to kick on my jumpering the switch, that's pretty much the problem.
 
  #3  
Old 06-30-07, 10:57 PM
Z
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 328
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Did he put a manifold guage set on your system and check the pressures?
 
  #4  
Old 07-01-07, 08:26 AM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,754
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
You can't get a guage reading accurately if the compressor does not come on.
 
  #5  
Old 07-01-07, 05:10 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 12
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes he used a manfiold gage set with the compressor running and the pressure was within normal range. What I was looking for was how to test the switch with an ohm meter. I tried a switch from an older Ford and it did not work but the older models have a different control module. I suppose the fact that it did not work makes me cautious about buying a new switch with no refund possible.
 
  #6  
Old 07-01-07, 07:17 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,754
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I went through a similar incident with my wifes car. I tried troubleshooting the best I could and couldn't get it figured out.

I could get the compressor to come on by jumpering the relay so I knew it wasn't that.

The dealer replaced the pressure switch with no change. Then they replaced a thermostatic switch in the air box, no change.

It turned out to be a bad control panel. I had two control panels on hand, turns out both were bad. I never knew if that was the true cause or not because when I told them I thought it was the harness because I could get the compressor to come on by moving the wiring harness going into the panel. Oh well. Good luck!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: