Caravan horn conundrum

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-03-07, 01:20 PM
Codyy's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 477
Caravan horn conundrum

Awhile I posted about our 1991 Dodge Caravan's horn which wasn't working. Even after, we still weren't sure what the problem exactly was so we thought we'd try the simplest solution - replace the horn itself. A trip to the wrecker, 10 dollars, and a 2 horn set from a caravan later, the horn was working. We simply pulled the old horn, put the 2 horn set in, and plugged in both plugs. We were very happy...

A week, maybe not even a week later, we go to try the horn, and it is dead, again! The plugs are in firm, even tried switching them around but no luck.

Any idea at all why this has happened again with no warning out of the blue? What do we try now...?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-03-07, 01:28 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Check your fuses!

If fuses are ok, the horn switch may be bad.

Easiest thing to do is run a new wire directly from the battery to a new switch, then from switch to horns.

Install a inline fuse as well.
 
  #3  
Old 07-03-07, 01:37 PM
Codyy's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 477
I've seen no fuse marked "horn", but in case it's marked something else, they all have been checked and look good. Perhaps is there fuses or relays or something in a place other than the access panel by the driver's knee?

I was thinking of a simple method like you suggested too, just wiring a new setup in itself. I haven't done much electrical, but have no doubt I could do it safely/properly with some info. Just need to know what kind of wire, and the connections/inline fuse. If we keep trying to fix the other horn, it might just be a total waste with us never finding the prob.

Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 07-03-07, 01:42 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Very easy.

Get some 18" gauge wire (auto store) and a horn switch with a inline fuse. The horns themselves should state what amperage.

Run your line from the battery (do not connect it yet) up to a inline fuse, then from the fuse to your switch. Run another wire from switch to horns.

Connect battery.

You can run this wire through an existing hole in the firewall or drill a new hole.

Check the ground wires for the horns as well.
 
  #5  
Old 07-03-07, 02:00 PM
Codyy's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 477
Still a few questions...

How do I connect the wires to the battery if I go this route, and how do I check the ground as well. Is ground an issue for doing the alternate circuit idea?
 
  #6  
Old 07-03-07, 02:55 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
You can get a simple eyelit type connector to attach to the battery terminal.

The horns themselves should have the ground wires (usually black) and attach to vehicle
s body/frame, etc.
 
  #7  
Old 07-03-07, 03:54 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,292
Check under the hood, on the top of the wheel well - drivers side - for the rest of the fuses, and breakers. Good place to start.
 
  #8  
Old 07-03-07, 07:48 PM
Codyy's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 477
Are they contained in a black "box"?
 
  #9  
Old 07-03-07, 09:47 PM
Codyy's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 477
The solution

Problem fixed. Van was taken to get brakes done, and apparently some fuse that remained elusive to myself and others was found and replaced, and the horn works again. Thanks for the info though, I learnt a lot for experiences to come.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes