Mass Air Flow Sensor???

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-16-07, 04:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 172
Mass Air Flow Sensor???

I just had my "Service Engine Soon" light come on, so I took it to AutoZone to have the code read.

Apparently, it has something to do with the mass air flow sensor, and while I can get that replaced, I do have a question. As I was leaving AutoZone, the A/C fan wasn't putting out near as forceful air as it normally does, and my car ended up dieing. I restarted it, and it died again. The next time, I drive with both feet so I always had the gas pressed down, and it stayed running. I did this since I only had a few blocks to get home......Anyway, is it possible that the mass air flow sensor had anything to do with this? I think the code also said it could have something to do with the throttle body. The print-out is in my car, but any knowledge is appreciated.

The car is a 1997 Pontiac Grand Prix GT, 4 dr, 3.8L, V6

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-16-07, 04:59 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
I'm no expert on MAF's, but I did here on this weekend's "Sam's Garage" radio show that MAF's couple with the computer to create proper fuel mixture AND timing.

Anything that controls fuel and timing surely is bound to play a big role in making a car not run right, perhaps die, if those two componenets are not in order.
 
  #3  
Old 07-16-07, 05:00 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
MAF sensors can do this for sure.

I would check your battery/alternator voltage as well.

Your radiator fan has two speeds, high and low. It should go to high with A/C on or when engine temp gets hot.

They sell MAF cleaner at these stores. You can try and clean it.
 
  #4  
Old 07-16-07, 05:27 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,345
yes

Yes it can My 2000 corolla had the same problem. Car ran worse with the A/C on I replaced the sensor and what a diffreance. You can clean the sensor also and it might or might not work. In my case it did not.
 
  #5  
Old 07-17-07, 04:09 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
You'll want to post up the exact code, as there is usually more than one "mass air flow sensor" code possible, and just because one gets a "mass air flow sensor code" it doesn't necessarily mean the sensor is bad

But , in answer to your question, yes, the MAF could affect this
I would try cleaning it first
I don't know if this model needs the special tool (tamper proof screws) to remove it, but you can always use a dremel or small saw to cut a slot into the screw head and use a flat blade screwdriver
 
  #6  
Old 07-17-07, 10:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 172
I was able to get a sensor at a local salvage yard for $40. I am going to try installing this myself, but I am not sure how difficult or time consuming the process is. Anyone have experience doing this? I know the first step is to remove the large voer over the transmission, and it should be accessible.
 
  #7  
Old 07-17-07, 10:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,345
in the intake

It is located in the air intake after the air filter.
 
  #8  
Old 07-17-07, 10:42 AM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
Like michael said. It's very easy to remove and install. Should take about 5-10 mins. Just be careful with the sensors, they are very sensative.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'