1997 Lumina AC


  #1  
Old 08-13-07, 03:57 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Angry 1997 Lumina AC

My 1997 Lumina 3.1, airconditioner quit working I recharged it and the compressor ran and i had cold air for about an hour. Then the compressor stopped again. What could be the cause and how can i fix it?
 
  #2  
Old 08-13-07, 03:59 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,754
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I would start by replacing the pressure switch.

You did take a pressure reading before and during recharge, right? Overcharging can damage the system.
 
  #3  
Old 08-13-07, 09:41 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I used a recharge canister with a pressure gauge on it and stopped rechaeging when the meter registered in the green or full mark.


Where is the pressure switch?
 
  #4  
Old 01-18-08, 04:08 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Talking a/c charge

Remove some of the freon, in air conditioning less is more, see if removing some helps free it up. If you are inside the car when you hit you're ac switch you should see the rpm change or hear a sound (drag) on the engine. If you have an extra pair of hands go over to where the compressor is and listen to see if the clutch engages,, you can usually see it, the outside of the gear or belt pulley will move ONLY when the ac is turned on, if this happens, than at the very least you're compressor is engaging. too much freon at the wrong temperature can sometimes work for a while then stop, then if you are lucky like me it has a relief valve and will backfire spitting green stuff out, I was at auto zone and mine backfired and the guy said I got too much freon, I let some loose( Dont let epa see ya) and then much better. autozone has the cans with green oil to see where leaks are, and a guage that reads pressure and temp. or rather what the pressure should be at that temp. anyways it will most likely improve if you let some out. good luck, let me know if it works for ya
 
  #5  
Old 01-18-08, 07:12 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,278
Received 262 Upvotes on 213 Posts
Of course the most obvious reason would be a pretty healthy leak somewhere in the system.
 
  #6  
Old 01-18-08, 08:07 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 552
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I agree with there being a leak, since you had to add to the system to get it to blow cold. There is dye you can put in the system. Let it run through the system and when it begins to blow warm again, use a UV lamp and search for the leak. Could be a line, fitting, bad o-ring, condensor, compressor clutch seal, or the evaporator core (unlikely on this model, they last quite a while).
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: