Installing a remote start/door lock in a 96 Ford Contour.

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-09-07, 09:16 AM
brewcityc's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 164
Installing a remote start/door lock in a 96 Ford Contour.

Last year I installed a remote start in my wife's 96 Ford Contour. That was easy and works, no problem. The remote also has a door lock function. I cannot find the door lock relay though to hook this function up. The car has automatic locks, but they are not remote controlled and there's no alarm. Both the Haynes manual and the remote's wiring manual state that the relay is under the dash on the passenger side. I can't find it! I found one module maked "door relay", but it only had a 2 wire harness going to it. That makes no sense to me as you need at least 4 wires for a relay (the two coil wires, a hot and a switchleg). Also, pulling the relay from the harness has no effect on the locks. I also read in the Haynes manual (this was last year so I don't remember all the details exactly) that locking and unlocking the door in succession 8 times within 10 seconds was supposed to make the relay beep or something. I tried this numerous times with no success. Is it possible that there's no door lock relay? If so, how do I hook it up to the remote? If there really is a door relay does anyone know exactly where it is?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-09-07, 11:41 AM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
You don't need to connect to the relay. Just connect to the lock/unlock wires. These are located under the carpet near the the edge just a little down from the kick panel.

Hook into the yellow/green wire. This one unlocks the doors.
Hook into the white/green wire. This one locks the doors.

Here's a pic of the harness.

 

Last edited by HotxxxxxxxOKC; 09-10-07 at 02:28 PM.
  #3  
Old 09-10-07, 10:42 PM
brewcityc's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 164
Makes sense to me. I'm assuming that these switch legs are wired in parallel and can be found/used from either the passenger or driver side... Thanks much for the response!
 
  #4  
Old 09-11-07, 04:50 PM
brewcityc's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 164
Nevermind, I got it. You even had the right colors and everything. The Haynes manual doesn't even get the colors right. Thanks a lot for the help!
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:07 AM.