1994 Explorer 4X4 transmission shift problem

Old 09-30-07, 06:15 PM
F
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 1994 Explorer 4X4 transmission shift problem

I own a 1994 Explorer with 186,000 miles. I have maintained it and always changed the transmission fluid and filter at regular intervals. It's an automatic and will not shift into second gear. I can manuallly shift it into second but that's about it. I hear what sounds like a vacuum leak under the transmission. I am a weekend mechanic BUT know little to nothing about transmissions. I do not want to sink any substantial cash into this vehicle and at this point I'm thinking it may be time to retire it. This is the origonal transmission and never required service so I think that 186k is pretty good. I checked the fluid and it looks clean and red; no signs of metal or burnt smell. I do have a code reader; are there codes for transmission problems? Any inputs would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Old 09-30-07, 06:20 PM
R
Check the vacum line going to the modulator valve on the right side of tranny.

Old 10-01-07, 04:43 AM
F
1994 Explorer transmission problem

Hi,

If I'm in the correct location I did find a vacuum hose on the drivers side of the vehicle at the side of the transmission. The hose was cracked and I replaced it but still (if I'm in the right location) no shifting into second gear and I can still hear what sounds like a vacuum leak. Does it sound like I found the hose that you are talking about? If so is there a step 2?

Thanks,

Old 10-01-07, 06:27 AM
Received 59 Upvotes on 53 Posts