Fog light wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-16-07, 09:28 AM
borak's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 30
Fog light wiring

I bought a fog light kit (Under bumper lights) for my 97 K1500. The kit calls for me to wire a switch inside the cab so I can turn them one and off and also wants it wired to the battery. Rather then run the risk of forgeting them on I would like to wire them into my standard low beams. I have the daytime running lights on the truck but would only like the fog lights to be on when I turn my headlights on and not all the time with the daytime running lights.

How would I wire this up? Do I need to wire it as they say but instead of installing another switch could I connect it to the original?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-16-07, 11:35 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 3,673
Just a thought.

There is a question as to whether the OEM low beam fuse/wiring would carry the extra load of the fog lights. There have been setups where an extra module/solenoid is introduced to handle the extra load. This would be something similar to a starter solenoid or a triggered relay.

I understand the concern of leaving the fog lights on, which could happen with the direct battery connection, but there is often switched (by the ignition switch) connections at the fuse box that should work for you. It would still require an additional switch for the lights, but the source would be cutoff by the ignition switch.

Hope this helps,

Bob
 
  #3  
Old 11-16-07, 11:40 AM
borak's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 30
That's a great idea. Then if I get forgetful it still gets turned off when the ignition is off.

What's the best way to run wires into the cab for the switch?
 
  #4  
Old 11-16-07, 02:21 PM
HotxxxxxxxOKC's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 8,044
You will have a hot wire (from a accessory fuse in vehicle) wired to the bottom leg of the switch. The top leg of the switch will have the wire going to the fog lamp positive side. You will then ground your fog lamps somewhere where they are mounted, usually under an existing bolt in the frame.
 
  #5  
Old 11-16-07, 04:14 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,515
I would add a relay in there as Bob alluded to to ensure you have sufficient current-carrying capability. I don't think any of the accessory circuits that are switched will be anywhere near having the wire size (or amperage) to handle fog lamps. I'm a little surprised a lighting kit would not have one included.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'