1998 Ford Windstar Tensioner Pulley broken HELP!!

Old 01-02-08, 06:26 PM
Unhappy 1998 Ford Windstar Tensioner Pulley broken HELP!!

I own a Windstar 3.8 L The tensioner pulley broke!! [At least I think it is that pulley.] My husband was driving it and he heard a pop, then smelled rubber burning. He drove it home, and a pulley is broken. The belt is still in one piece, but 2 of the ribs are missing.

I graduated with an AS in Auto technology in 1990, but haven't worked in the field since then d/t pregnancy x 3.

When I was 8 mo pregnant, I instructed my dh on how to replace a water pump, I have removed a carb bolt from the top of a piston, and done more brake jobs than I care to count.

I say all this so that you know that I am familar with tools and vehicles.

Obviously, I will be replacing the pulley, I just need to know if I can do it by myself or if it should be done by a pro.

Thanks!!

In His Grace,

Karen RN

Failure is NOT an option!!

Last edited by kwagner_51; 01-02-08 at 06:27 PM. Reason: spelling error
Sponsored Links
Old 01-02-08, 09:01 PM
I am not familiar with the tensioner setup on those motors, usually it is just one bolt and a dowel pin that fits into the bracket that the tensioner is bolted to to keep it from turning. They can be fairly easy if the access is there. Do you still have a serp belt tool? It makes the job alot easier. I would get a whole new tensioner, pulley and belt. Make sure you have a routing diagram for the belt, usually they are located on the motor somewhere. You can always map your own out.
If you have a nice warm place to work its worth a shot. Right now its 5 degrees here and ther is no way I would even think about it unless I had a somewhat heated garage. Good luck.

Btw, what does "dh" stand for? I have seen it in many forums and have never figured it out.

Old 01-03-08, 06:26 AM
Group Moderator
Here's some help, Karen:

http://www.autozone.com/az/cds/en_us...rInfoPages.htm