Drastic drop in mileage

Old 01-08-08, 01:44 AM
A
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Drastic drop in mileage

I have a 2002 f250 powerstroke diesel. It has 86,000 on it. Thus far, the only thing I have done is oil changes, and routine maintenance. It has always run great. However, the fuel economy really dropped off all at once. Like, dramatically. It still runs good though. Could someone give me an idea as to what is causing the sudden drop in mileage?
Thank you

Old 01-08-08, 06:26 AM
S
I too am looking for help in here , am not a mechanic by trade, but have done more than my share of wrenchin'. Have you changed fuel lately? Possibly getting buildup of Fuel Gel in the fuel lines from diesel fuel. Clean Air Filter? Plugs still in good shape? Maybe not getting quite as hot as need be. Just a couple thoughts for ya. Laters, Syx.

Old 01-08-08, 07:13 AM
A
Drastic drop in mileage

How often should you change the glow plugs? What would you use to clean the lines if there is a gel build up?
Thank you

Old 01-08-08, 07:43 AM
Originally Posted by SyxPak
I too am looking for help in here , am not a mechanic by trade, but have done more than my share of wrenchin'. Have you changed fuel lately? Possibly getting buildup of Fuel Gel in the fuel lines from diesel fuel. Clean Air Filter? Plugs still in good shape? Maybe not getting quite as hot as need be. Just a couple thoughts for ya. Laters, Syx.
to what plugs do you refer? it doesn't have spark plugs and glow plugs have no maintenance interval...just replace when they fail.

also, glow plugs are for starting and won't affect your fuel mileage. air filter is very important tho. gelling in the fuel line...perhaps if it's really cold where you are...and even at that, that would restrict fuel delivery and cause lack of power

Old 01-08-08, 07:50 AM
S