Using a Torque wrench

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-16-08, 11:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 38
Using a Torque wrench

I got a new torque wrench for Christmas and wanted to know how to determine I got to the correct "torque"? I read the manual and it stated you will hear an audible click when the correct torque has been applied. However, you can over torque it if you miss the point. Is it a soft click or can you feel thru the wrench? Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-16-08, 11:32 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,018
wrench

It'll be pretty hard to miss unless you are in a very noisy environment.

Just to experiment, set it low...like 25-40 lbs, then put it on a lugnet on your car. Turn to tighten and it'll click long before you over tighten the lug. Thats the sound you'll hear.
 
  #3  
Old 01-16-08, 12:37 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
And read all instructions regarding installation of part to be torqued, as some things require an additional 1/4 turn? beyond the torque setting, from my distant memory. Anyone else here want to confirm or deny this?
 
  #4  
Old 01-16-08, 01:41 PM
LouBazooka's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 553
torquemeter

Originally Posted by ecman51` View Post
And read all instructions regarding installation of part to be torqued, as some things require an additional 1/4 turn? beyond the torque setting, from my distant memory. Anyone else here want to confirm or deny this?
deny of course that doesn't make any sense, thats why you have your torque setting in the first place , you may be thinking about your oil filter
 
  #5  
Old 01-16-08, 02:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 553
Some head bolts ask for a specific torque setting and then an additional 1/4 turn or so for proper tightening. It all depends on instructions from the shop manual. It is not a routine thing to do with most bolts however.
 
  #6  
Old 01-16-08, 03:00 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,629
Originally Posted by LouBazooka View Post
...deny of course that doesn't make any sense, thats why you have your torque setting in the first place , you may be thinking about your oil filter
I have learned through experience in life that there is a lot that does not make sense, until you finally learn why it is so.
 
  #7  
Old 01-17-08, 07:41 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Livonia, Michigan
Posts: 923
Originally Posted by ecman51` View Post
... some things require an additional 1/4 turn? beyond the torque setting...
The only automotive fasteners I can think of that may require this treatment are head bolts and connecting rod bolts. And even then, not all of these bolts require this treatment.
 
  #8  
Old 01-17-08, 08:44 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 269
Originally Posted by Kestas View Post
The only automotive fasteners I can think of that may require this treatment are head bolts and connecting rod bolts. And even then, not all of these bolts require this treatment.
These bolts are generally called "Torque To Yield" bolts. If you are going to properly use a torque wrench you should have a service manual for the product you are working on and that should mention any specific fastener tightening information you need to know. Don't forget to back the torque wrench setting back to "Zero" or the storage setting mentioned in the manual that came with the wrench.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes