12v Siren

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-20-08, 02:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
12v Siren

Hi. I have a 12v/15w siren with a few tones on it that i would like to add to my car. Does anyone know how to make only one of those tones play? It is currently cycling through all of them.
Thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-20-08, 02:43 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
It probably has a control console that is associated with it, and you would have to use it to control the tones. Have you googled the brand and model yet?
 
  #3  
Old 01-21-08, 03:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
no its just the siren with two wires. there is no brand name on it, only 12v/15w Made In Taiwan. Do you know how the console could work? different electrical pulses, different current intensity?
 
  #4  
Old 01-21-08, 03:45 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
It would be an electronic console, to send signals to the siren, electronically, not manually. There may be a set of relays inside the siren that switch from one tone to the next, but you would have to take it apart to see if that was the case. Was this a deal on ebay?
 
  #5  
Old 01-21-08, 03:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
nope it came with my second hand car, it was for the alarm system. ill try taking it apart..
 
  #6  
Old 01-21-08, 03:56 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
The alarm system may have had a processor built in sending the signals for the different tones.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes