CEL states catalytic converter

Old 02-26-08, 06:41 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
CEL states catalytic converter

Check Engine Light Code states catalytic converter not meet emission specification. I took it to my mechanic and he told me it cost too much to replace and not needed for awhile at the state and city where I lived. This is a 2001 Subaru Forester with 98,000 miles. Is he right? He did mention that eventually my mileage will decrease but takes a long time. I have been using him for the last 8 years. So I do trust him but not needed to fix something seems odd. What do you think?

Old 02-27-08, 03:30 AM
M
my 2 cents

Originally Posted by tonykwong
Check Engine Light Code states catalytic converter not meet emission specification. I took it to my mechanic and he told me it cost too much to replace and not needed for awhile at the state and city where I lived. This is a 2001 Subaru Forester with 98,000 miles. Is he right? He did mention that eventually my mileage will decrease but takes a long time. I have been using him for the last 8 years. So I do trust him but not needed to fix something seems odd. What do you think?
My 2 cents are fix it for these two reasons:
One it is the right thing to do for the air we breathe. and two with that light on if another thing in the system goes bad you will not know it because the light will be on already.

Old 02-27-08, 01:03 PM
T
Good point! Thanks

Old 02-28-08, 01:18 PM
Your car has two oxygen sensors (O2 Sensor), one in front(upstream) of the Catalytic Converter (CAT) and one behind (downstream). The upstream sensor measures the oxygen left in the exhaust after the fuel is burned, and controls the fuel injectors to give the proper fuel/air ratio. The downstream sensor checks the output of the CAT to see if it is doing its job. If the downstream sensor fails it will set the code indicating the CAT has failed. The computer has no other way of measuring the condition of the CAT.