1991 Dodge Caravan No Start, Take 2

Old 03-06-08, 08:46 PM
1991 Dodge Caravan No Start, Take 2

Hello all! I posted about this van no start awhile back, and got many responses. I've tested the basic things that I could and now I got my Haynes manual back. So I think now it may be the neutral safety switch, or the starter motor, or solenoid. I have some tests from the Haynes book and I need a bit more information.

One test asks me to jump the battery positive to the small terminal on the solenoid, and then crank. What kind of cable do I buy, what kind of clips, and how do I do it safely? (This is my first time doing this, so try to simplify instructions if you can! )

The other one has me test for continuity with a voltmeter for the neutral safety switch. It mentions touching the case with on side, by case I guess they mean tranny case? Also anyone know what kind of wrench to take that switch off?

Thanks for the input, hopefully with a little luck, I'll be back on the road in no time!

Sponsored Links
Old 03-07-08, 04:39 AM
Group Moderator
Hot wiring the solenoid in that fashion you can use pretty small wire. About 14ga or so should be fine. Just attach a couple of alligator clips to the ends big enough to clip on the terminals. As soon as you make the connection the solenoid should close and the starter rotate. You're eliminating the ignition switch as the possible problem. You can accomplish the same thing by metering for voltage at that terminal when the key is turned.

"Case" could refer either to the tranny case or the switch case, although I'm inclined to think they mean the tranny case. I don't recall how that switch is mounted.

Nothing happening at all when you turn the key; no clicks or rotation?

Old 03-07-08, 09:14 AM
Great information, thanks.