98 Jimmy theft radio

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-13-08, 05:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 204
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
98 Jimmy theft radio

OK my mom owns a 98 jimmy i was wonder if the theft light on the radio does not blink is it deactifvated? We do not know the code to the radio so we don't want to take a chance when we unhock the battery.

thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-13-08, 05:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 555
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If the theft light is not blinking the code is not set. I have a '98 Bonneville that had the theft light blinking when I bought it used, the first time the battery went dead I was screwed. Only the dealer can unlock it when it gets hosed.
 
  #3  
Old 04-13-08, 07:03 PM
ukrkoz's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 222
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
you can get codes for pretty much any radio off internet. just google it. they need your radio serial number. of course, they ain't no charity, but the cost is reasonable.
 
  #4  
Old 04-13-08, 08:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 204
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
how sure are you? The reason i ask is because my moms jimmy, the front axle is not engaging but it is locked in the transfercase. we have to take out the battery to get to the Actuator . I took a look at it today and the actuator is not being sucked in to engage the front axle.
 
  #5  
Old 04-13-08, 08:30 PM
carguyinva's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 1,147
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the actuator under the battery engages the right half of the front axle...not the tranfer case. the transfer case has a electric motor mounted on the left side that connects the front drive shaft and the low range gears.
 
  #6  
Old 04-14-08, 03:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 555
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had that problem with my '89 S10 Blazer. there is a vacuum solenoid on top of the transmission or transfer case that causes this problem. It's a little black box an inch and a half or so with vacuum lines connected to it, it's a common problem. It usually starts as slow to engage followed by won't engage at all.
 
  #7  
Old 04-14-08, 07:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 204
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok first of all the radio did not have a code set so that so good.

Yeah we found out that the vacum hose was undone and it did not shut off the vacum when we put it in to high. we did have to replace that little black box on top off the transfercase.

thanks for all the help
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: