2000 Alero Cruise Control Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-20-08, 05:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Syracuse, UT
Posts: 43
2000 Alero Cruise Control Question

Hi,

I have a 2000 oldsmobile alero with the 3.4 L V-6. In the last couple of weeks I have noticed the cruise control disengage when I drive over some rough spots in the road. If I remember right I never had a problem before. I have also noticed sometimes when I hit these rough spots the tach increases. I think the increase on the tach comes from the torque converter becoming "unlocked".

Any indeas?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Jon
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-20-08, 06:25 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Ensure your brake lights are working properly. A misadjusted Brake light switch can "Bounce" on rough road conditions and disengage cruise functions. The same switch is also responsible for disabling TCC functions.
 
  #3  
Old 04-20-08, 06:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Syracuse, UT
Posts: 43
Thanks for the quick reply.
The brake lights do work, I followed my wife to her parents house and the brake lights were came on. Now that you mention the brake switch it seems that I recently bumped the side of the brake pedal when the cruise was on and it then came off.

Is the switch adjustable or is it easier to replace the unit.
can the switch be purchased from a parts store, or is it a dealer part?

Thanks again
 
  #4  
Old 04-20-08, 06:38 PM
Unclediezel's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northeastern PA.
Posts: 2,230
Is the switch adjustable or is it easier to replace the unit.
Replace or adjust...the procedure is the same.....

Remove the "Under Cover" From the Driver side. Follow the brake pedal up under the dash, you will see the switch, mounted about half way up the brake pedal lever. Lean on the brake pedal, press the whole switch toward the lever,It will "Ratchet" in... Release the brake pedal, and pull up on it. This will adjust the switch.
 
  #5  
Old 04-20-08, 06:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Syracuse, UT
Posts: 43
Thanks,

I will give it a try.
 
  #6  
Old 04-21-08, 03:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Syracuse, UT
Posts: 43
Uncle,

I was able to take a look at the car today. I noticed that there were two switches on the brake pedal. I assume one is for the lights as it looked rather simple with only one pair of wires leaving. The second switch had two pairs of wires coming out of it. I looked closer and sure enough the with the brake pedal all the way off the switch was sticking out a bit. After following the proceedure you suggested with the pedal released the switch was completely inside its housing.

I haven't had a chance to drive a lot of miles with the cruise, but from what I could see I think the issue is fixed.

Thank you very much for your time and help on resolving this issue.

Jon
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'